14 Month old cries when i leave the room

• My son is 14 months old, he is a very happy and sociable boy, when he is with other people. When I am around all he does is cry unless I am holding him or sitting on the floor with him. If I walk out of the room he cries and follows me, if I am holding him and put him down he automatically starts screaming. With my husband (his Dad) he is an angel. He will play by himself and he never cries. He is the same way at daycare (I have a full time job) and with everyone else. He is only needy like this when i am around him. This has been going on for a couple months but it seems to be getting a lot worse. I need help!

• Well I am no expert but I have a 9 year old son who went through that and still to this day likes to see what he can get away with when he gets around me. The best thing that I would say to try is ignoring him when he wants to be held or when he starts screaming don't make eye contact. Maybe put him in a playpen if he can't climb out and this will allow him to see that his cries are not going to get the best of you. They love the attention just remember that so just don't give it to him. It will hurt you more than him, trust me. It won't be easy but try it.

• Are our kids related?? :-) My little boy was JUST like that and still occasionally does the crying and hugging thing. I can tell he adores his mommy and loves being around you tremendously. That said, you and he have to have some level of independence from each other. When I really needed to go out of the room to do laundry or whatever it was I was leaving for, I would simply say to him "Mommy will be back in just a minute" and try to get him busy with some toys. I would leave to do my thing and come back even if he was crying. After a while, he got used to the idea of me doing other things while at home with him and his crying lessened. Many babies go through a second wave of separation anxiety between 14-24 months. Keep working with him - he will improve!