If I'm breastfeeding, do I need to buy baby bottles and formula?

• I'm in my 22nd week of pregnancy and I have just begun a registry. This is my very first baby, and I"m 24 years old. I just graduated and work from home.. I'm an artist and I don't make much money. A friend of my husband insisted she throw me a baby shower and has encouraged me to start a registry. I started one up at Target.com because it was most convenient for everyone who will attend. I had found a very helpful list of things to get online. I'm pretty much covered for things such as a crib, car seat, stroller, high chair, clothing, diapers, bedding & sheets and toiletries. The only thing that stumped me was the breastfeeding and bottles. If I plan on breastfeeding my baby, what do I need? When I looked at the 'feeding' section on Target's website, I was lost. There were hundreds of different kinds of bottles and formula and sterilizers. But I know a lot of these are for mothers who choose not to or cannot breastfeed. Do I need to look into buying formula if I'm breastfeeding? Does formula supplement breast milk, or is it a replacement? Do I need to buy bottles at all if I'm breastfeeding? I will be a stay at home mother. I understand some working mothers may want to buy breast pumps and milk bags to put away for a caretaker to use on the baby, but is it necessary? Do you think I can get by with not buying any bottles at all until they're off breastmilk? Thanks for your input :) - from a very confused mom to be
  • That is totally up to you, but I would say probably not initially unless you want others to be able to participate in feedings as well. 

As for is formula a replacement or a supplement, it can be either.  With my first child, I breastfed (including pumping as I did work) solely for 4 months, and then began to supplement with formula.  On the other hand, it couldn't hurt to have bottles up front on the registry, even if you may not need them until later on down the line.