The Hospital Experience

• Pittsburghneon - so glad you had a great experience! Getting on-going support from your pediatrician and lactation consultants is such a great thing. I hope it becomes the standard of practice for everyone. How old is your baby now?

• I am a nurse also, before I had my baby I prepared for breastfeeding by reading as much literature as possible.  The hospital I had my baby in was also the hospital I worked in, and the nurses were not very knowledgeable about breastfeeding.  It was suggested that I supplement with formula (due to jaundice) and the nurses encouraged me to let them feed him in the night so I could sleep.  I was given samples of formula and told that when I felt like I needed a break from BF-ing I should just give him some formula.  Thank goodness I had thoroughly prepared myself and educated myself, had I listened to their advice I could have set myself up for breastfeeding failure.  Although I know their intentions were good, I never listened to them, never gave my baby formula, and have been BF-ing for months now with no problems (he did get 2 ounces at birth due to hypoglycemia, but not after that).  We also had no lactation consultant, and had I not prepared myself as well I don't know how successful I would have been.