Feeling Judged

• Hi! I'm new to these boards as well as to mommy-hood altogether. I just had my son a little over 3 weeks ago (he was born February 15th) and though my original plan was to exclusively BF, I ended up deciding to pump and supplement with formula. In the process of doing so, though, I found an incredible backlash from the BFing community. Relatives and friends who've exclusively BFed are having a hard time wrapping their heads around the fact that I'm not BFing. It's almost as though people refuse to believe that I could have possibly decided NOT to BF without having some incredibly awful medical issue as the reason. Has anyone else faced this sort of issue? I'm somewhat young (I'm 25 and DH is 28) and like I said before I'm new to being a mom so having people attack one of my first decisions in motherhood is really rather daunting and quite frankly makes me doubt myself and my abilities. It's pretty stressful and I'm just wondering if a) you've had your decision to use formula attacked, and b) how you handled it.

Thanks in advance :)

• I have felt judged for my decisions, too.  It's no fun.  I'm sorry that you're experiencing that.  My daughter has been exclusively breastfed...so that's not our issue.  However, there will always be something that people think you should do differenty with how you parent your child.

I often respond by say saying something brief then changing the subject.  Maybe, "That's an interesting perspective" or "Thank you for sharing your thought" or "Well, you've given me somthing to consider."

If the person insists on continuing the conversation I say something like, "I'm happy that works for you; we've found something that is great for our family" or "I hope you are able to raise your children how you see fit; because I am the one who is going to make decisions about MY child."

Please know that you are an awesome momma.  At the end of the day, your baby loves you and trusts you so much.  He needs you to trust yourself!