preemie

• I have a preemie born at 34 weeks he is now 2 1/2 months and he only wants to eat 2 oz at each feeding but he eats every 2 hours. Any suggestions on how to stretch out time between his feedings and get him to eat more?

• Talk to your doctor first. As a NICU nurse, I can tell you that some premie babies do much worse when they eat larger quantities of food. They have a tendency to get reflux and gas. If he is happy eating every 2 hours, I would talk to your doctor about ways to increase his feedings. If your doctor agrees, you can then try to stretch his feedings to 2.5 hours and see if he takes a bit more. If he is falling asleep after eating, you can try waking him up with a diaper change to see if he will take a little bit more. This may encourage him to go a bit longer.

• I think each baby just makes their own feeding schedule. Don't compare him to "the books." My little girl is formula fed and for the first 4 months she insisted on eating every hour and a half! (during the day at least... she went longer at night.) I think your little man sounds like he's on his own little schedule, but if you're concerned, I would talk to your doctor about it.

• My baby girl was born at 33 weeks.  She ate every two hours too, but now she is 4 months old and goes 3 - 4 hours between feeding.  It will get better just give hime time.

• My first one was born at 35 weeks and did the exact same thing for a little while.  I started stretching out his feedings by 15 minutes every couple of days.  After a couple of weeks he was taking more formula and going 3-4 hours between feedings.