Breast pumps

• Hi all!  I'm currently 16 weeks 5 days pregnant.  I have been looking at breast pumps but am overwhelmed by the variety of different types.  Does anyone have any suggestions on what worked best for you and why.

Thanks in advance for any advise you may have!

Have a wonderful day Smile

• I would go with the Medela brand for sure! I know they are pricey but they work great! I ended up getting a single pump, the Swing, but I suggest a double, its just less time consuming! Best of luck to ya!

• In my opinion manual breast pumps are better and more confortable, electric ones are just scary....good luck!!!

• Def. go with a electric pump! They are alot faster!

• I would suggest Ameda breast pump. I have been using it for 5 months now and it never gave up. It is also cheaper than Medela pump. It is only sold online.

• I would suggest renting a hospital brand pump.   This way you can build up your mil supply and it will give you time to know if breast feeding will work for you and your baby.  You don't want to spend too much money on a pump and only use it for a while.  I have a 2 month old baby and the lactation nurse at the hospital suggested for me to rent a hospital brand pump.  I did I rented a Ameda and I love it. I have been using it for 2 months already and plan to continue to use it for up to 3 months.  This way I can build up my milk supply, before returning to work.  Good LuckAngel

• Hi! I've been using the Medela PIS Advanced for the past six months and LOVE it! It's pretty gentle on my nipples and allows you to adjust the rate of suction. I haven't had one problem and have recommended it to all my mommy friends :) I think Amazon is one of the cheaper places to buy it. I would discourage rental pumps because your trusting someone else to make sure its sterilized and after daily rental fees and shipping it can be cheaper in the end to have bought one in the first place.