pump question

• Hello all. I am new to breastfeeding and not sure if I am doing things right to prepare to return to work. My son was born 3 weeks ago and I am going back to work in 3 weeks. I am trying to maintain/increase my supply while pumping to save milk for daycare provider.  I have tried pumping from one side and nursing from the either but he does better when he can nurse from both sides. I have also tried to nurse, then pump for a few minutes from both sides.  I only get about 1/2 oz to an oz pumped at a time (total). Is that normal for this time? I hear about women who can pump 4 or 5 oz but I am no where near that. I plan to nurse him when I am home with him, but send breastmilk to daycare for bottles. Will I be able to pump enough to do this? Also, I am using a medela double electric (but I think I may need a different size shield). Any help would be greatly appreciated!