How can I teach my son to be a good sport?

• My 8 year old plays soccer and he constantly gets frustrated when he doesn't get the ball or when his team loses. While I know this is normal, I can't seem to get him to understand that he has to be a good sport about it and just have fun. How can you teach your child to be a good sport? Will it just come with maturity or is there something I can do now?

• I used to be a horseback riding instructor and dealt with this very issue frequently.  I coached between 15-20 kids per year at horse shows.  I made it very clear from day one that they were to congratulate the other kids on their success, and that they were not to express words or demo poor sportsmanship.  I would send them to the motor home or tack room and take the horse from them while they went to rethink about their behavior if i heard them saying negative things about or to another rider, complaining about loosing, and most of all if I saw them express their frustration of loss by getting after their horse.  I'd say I dealt with each situation individually.  There were times where their frustration was valid, and so I would quietly talk to them privately pretty immediately, about "I know that this feels like a lousy loss, or not fair, but right now i need to see you being a good rider, please smile and go back out to the arena to finish the day and we can talk about this more later."  I then immediately gave the student positive reinforcement when I saw them do this.  "Great job Henry, i'm sure next time will be better", "Way to get right back out on coarse", ect.  There were times when i would send a kid home for the rest of the show for being really out of line.  I also really enforced to my older riders how important it was that they be good competitors as they are very potent role models to the younger riders.  It meant a lot more if the sportsmanship talk then came from my older students than from me, and def. more from me than their parents.  Overall I wo