Nervous!

• My due date is February 10th and I'm almost 37 weeks now. I'm definitely starting to feel nervous about labor and after labor. I'm dilated 2 cm. I know I could stay a 2 for a while or I could go into labor any time now, which is pretty exciting!

I guess what I'm most nervous about is actually giving birth. I'm also nervous because I'm still a full time student. I only go two days a week, but one day I'm there for nine hours! I'm also working, but will have maternity leave. I'm just starting to freak out and hope I can handle everything!

• Well firstly congrats on your baby.. I would also like to say just relax and enjoy the ride. Labor and Delivery really isn't bad. You somehow just know what to do and how to get through it. Remember that you can ask for pain medication and that doesn't make you weak or less of a woman. If you're afraid of getting the epidural then i can tell you that my experience was really good. I only felt one poke (which was less painful than getting my iv put in, or the many blood draws and shots i had to receive throughout my pregnancy). After that initial poke there was just some tingling in my legs during placement of the catheter. I urge you to discuss a birth plan with your doctor and hopefully the two of you can come to a consensus about what will be the best route for you and put your fears at easy. recovery really isn't too bad either. I was sore for a while, but not enough for pain medication. Just take it easy and take advantage of all the people willing to help while you can.

• Iris18-

Just wanted to check in and see how you are doing.  We are thinking about you!

-Jess