6 months pregnant :)

• Im new to this and when I checked it out, I thought what a great place to meet other moms and make new friends. Im currently 6 months pregnant with a boy. This is my 2nd child, my oldest is 11. My worry and concern is, will there be problems between them considering there is such a age gap? My 11 year old is a very laid back, go with the flow young man. However, he is already showing signs of jealousy. Hes asking questions like am I going to love the baby more than I love him, and will I forget about him. I know the age gap is huge, but I had my 1st when I was 19, and never expected another one. Im am so very blessed and excited about this. I just know that my 11 year old has been an only child for so long, I just hope he can handle this huge change in his life. Does anyone have any ways or ideas to help me out with this?? Ill appreciate all input :)

Thank you!

• Well first i want to welcome you to the site and congratulate you on your second baby! I think it is completely normal for all children to have fears about their position in the family when a new baby enters it. That being said all you can do is reassure him that you do and always will love him no matter what. I think it will also be important for you to explain to him that when the baby comes he will be so tiny and won't be able to do anything for himself and will need a lot of your attention for a while, but even then you will still love your oldest just the same. And since your son is older he will be able to help out a lot more than younger kids. He will be able to help feed the baby, change him, play with him, teach him new things... and since they are the same gender you can also get your older son about teaching his little brother all about being a boy. and lastly make sure you get a sitter so you can have one on one time with your older son so that you can reassure him that you still love him and that he is also important.... anyway it will all work out.