1st time pregnancy

• This is my first time pregnancy and I am really scared. I am currently 8 weeks and goto my first prenatal check up next week. Can anyone tell me if Dr will ok an ultrasound? Any tips on how to stay calm?

• Congrats! Pregnancy can be exciting but nerve wracking too. I hope your first check up goes really well. A lot of doctors do an ultrasound as a way to confirm pregnancy and see how far along you are by measuring the baby. Some doctors simply do a urine or blood test to confirm pregnancy and go by the date of your last period as a way of dating the baby. I hope you get an ultrasound, though. It so fun to see the baby growing inside you. :-)

Staying calm is easier said than done but I would just encourage you to go and get some books or videos on pregnancy and start reading them so you know what to expect as much as possible. Also, getting a journal and writing to your baby about your feelings and what you hope for them, dream for them, how you are preparing for them, etc is a great way to get some of your emotions out. It is also fun for your child to read later! Hope this helps - let us know how the first appointment goes.

• first off, congratulations!

your doctor should give you an ultrasound anytime soon, to check the measurements and confirm your due date. you should also be getting another ultrasound around your 18-20th week for gender determination and measurements. it's really a great experience!

this is my first pregnancy, and i'm almost 39 weeks now. i worried a lot towards the beginning, but if you focus on the miracle of a baby growing inside of you, and just appreciate everything, you should be fine. 

also, don't worry so much about purchasing everything right away. i'd wait until you're around halfway there because it really just piles up and you become impatient. 

i hope everything is going well for you and your little one!