so embarassing

• Hi.  I'm new to the message boards, and have a question for all of you wonderful moms out there.  I have a 9 month old son who has an embarassing habit of screaming at the top of his lungs...often.  It has been going on for months, and it started out cute, and seemingly random.  Now it seems to be when he is wanting a change (when he's done in his highchair, when he's bored with the toy he has, when he's sick of playing on my lap), and it's just not cute anymore.  I've had to walk out of church, apologize when talking to people, and try to explain when people comment on it.  So my question is this: do I start disciplining him for screaming?  I try to use the "ignore" method so that I don't encourage this as a means of getting what he wants, but it doesn't seem to be working.  Please help!!!  Thank you...

• This is commonly known as the "seven month scream" -- because it manifests at about seven months and lasts for about that long, too. It's a totally normal developmental stage that you just have to ride out until he can find a more effective way to communicate with you.

Try to talk to your son when he does that and let him know that it's not okay, but keep in mind that at this age, he probably won't understand much. You could also shush him gently and say that this is not something that we do in public, and if done consistently, he should eventually get the point. Have you thought about baby sign language? This may help channel his communication skills in a more appropriate direction. 

• Sign language is a good idea. There are tons of books and videos out on baby sign language.

• Funny you should write this.. my son is 8 months old and does the EXACT same thing! I dont know what to do, i usually try to give him something..like a toy.. to stop him or tell him that its not very nice. I know he cant understand me, but i say the same thing every time. he eventually stops screaming but he screams SO loud i never know what to do.