Similac

Similac® Alimentum®

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

see a difference

Similac Alimentum starts reducing excessive crying due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity, in most infants, within 24 hours.

Similac Alimentum is a trusted, easy-to-digest, and nutritionally complete infant formula for infants with food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity. Its formula is lactose-free and contains DHA and ARA, special nutrients found in breast milk that are important to help support brain and eye development.

And now it’s available at your favorite retailer in a 19.8-oz VALUE SIZE, giving you over 60% more product. The VALUE SIZE makes 9 more 6-fl-oz bottles.§

Learn more about protein sensitivity and colic-related crying.

To purchase Similac Alimentum hypoallergenic formula, click on the Buy Now button above for retailers near you.

* Nielsen Data, January 2018.
Based on a clinical study with Similac Alimentum Ready to Feed without DHA and ARA in a small group of infants experiencing colic symptoms due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity. Data on File, Study AC84, August 2004. Abbott Nutrition. Columbus, Ohio.
63.6% more product as compared to 12.1-oz powder.
§ As compared to Alimentum 12.1-oz powder.

Similac Alimentum Hypoallergenic formula
allergy-image

Available In:

1.24-lb Powder

12.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

Nutrition Information

12.1-oz Powder

Serving size: 100 Cal (prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    148

  • Protein Equivalent, g:

    2.75

  • Fat, g:

    5.54

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.2

  • Water, g:

    133

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    800

  • Potential Renal Solute Load, mOsm:

    25.3

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac Alimentum
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac Alimentum Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has been good for my daughters Both my daughters were protien sensitive. So Similac alimentum worked great after the first try. My youngest is still using but I was wondering if there any difference since I been seeing No artifical growth hormones green label some cans and the other cans that dont say this? Could you please answer... Thanks
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! My daughter had eczema and her doctor said it was caused by a milk allergy, first we tried soy formula and it was a disaster! Then we tried Enfamil Nutramagen which is the Similac Alimentum equivant, and it gave her constant diarrhea. Then I decided to give the Alimemtum a try! And its fantastic! My daughters eczema is 90% gone! And she seems a lot happier and less colicky. No tummy troubles, goes poo twice a day with no trouble! After trying Amy formulas this formula has brought my little one relief when nothing else could! It’s WAY TO EXPENSIVE THOUGH, but I suppose it’s worth it. And they need to make smaller ready to feed options like 8oz bottles
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made my daughter constipated after 3 bottles. Our pediatrician said my daughter has an allergy to cows milk protein and for me to avoid cows milk in my own diet. I sometimes offer her formula depending on my own milk supply so I tried this product instead of the pronsensitive and within three bottles she became constipated. Very disappointed.... this product is extremely expensive, I will not be using the remainder of this product so that was a waste of $30.00, plus it’s fowl smelling.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This is the only formula my son could use. Now my grand daughter is on it. Smells nasty and is expensive but I thank God for it every day. Both kids were horribly gassy and having diaper explosions. Not since Alimentum.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Recommend Terrible reaction to this formula. Projectile vomiting and diarrhea were terrifying. The odor of this formula is nauseatingly foul. Not just a waste of an overpriced formula but it tormented my baby. Extremely disappointed and dissatisfied.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great at beginning got constipated, full of gas, crying & vomiting. This was the 4th brand of milk my baby switched to. She did good with the formula with the past couple of months but now at 5 months she's getting constipated again, having problems passing has both ways. As well as her vomiting, I really dont wanna continue having to switch her again to a 5th milk I really like similac, but I'm not sure now where to go from here.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sixth time was the charm! My poor baby could not poo or even pass gas on his own, he was so constipated. He isn't even four months old yet, and we've tried four different bottles and gone through six formulas. We were pulling our hair out!! At his 2mo checkup, his pediatrician told us Alimentum was the last option we had before we had to go into hypoallergenic formulas that cost more than my cat's vet bill. He gave us several samples and we prayed this would work -- and praise the Lord it did! I'll be honest, it makes me wince when I see the bottom of a $40 can less than five days after I opened it; but my baby isn't crying for hours every day and night, we aren't having to use the Frida Windi 3-5 times to get him to pass gas, and he isn't screaming when he poos because it's so hard it hurts to pass it! If I could just find a nice big box of 8oz Ready to Serve bottles and a box of powdered formula bigger than 19oz, there wouldn't be a thing I could think of to make it better.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works wekk I noticed when my son started on this his skin cleared up and he was having less gas, one week in he still has gas but only has a stool maybe once every two days. Is this normal? Does anyone else child have constipation?
Date published: 2018-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Yet We tried about three other formulas from similac and nothing seemed to be working until we tried the Alimentum! She would scream and get very red faced and had a difficult time pooping. When I made the switch it instantly helped but took about 2 weeks before she got completely comfortable with it. If you are considering this and Nutramigen, I recommend Alimentum because the Nutramigen gave her yellow colored poop and she would scream while pooping. My only issue with Alimentum is that it is more expensive, and I don’t believe their is a cheaper formula that compares to this one.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helping The Alimentum has helped my preemie baby with being less fussy and irritable. Now I wonder if I should continue her on it or attempt to switch her to another Similac product.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When all other formulas failed we found a winner Our son is almost 8 weeks old and when we took him home from the hospital he was pretty stable with the formula they provided. This was a competitor brand that his twin sisters used without much problem. After having him home for about 36 hours things quickly went south. We had been told with the girls that once you start with a formula brand that you could change formula types within that brand but not to change the brand. Because of this advise, over the next 6 weeks, we tried four other formula type within that family. Each time we had the same result in that he was good for about 24 hours and then to colic and indigestion returns just like before. He would cry constantly until his was exhausted and then sleep for a few hours. Needless to say, everyone's quality of life, especially his, suffered as a result. Out of options with this brand we decided to try Alimentum before turning to prescriptions. The results have been incredible. He was better within 24 hours and after a week on this formula its as though he is a new baby. He sleeps peacefully, can play on his back without spit-up, and even started cooing and smiling. None of which happened prior to this formula being introduced to his diet. His baby acne even cleared up which was an unexpected bonus. Although its very expensive, this product has been incredible and I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a change.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!!! This is the best formula!!! Wow...I’m sooo happy and relieved! Alimentum saved our lives and sanity. The first 6 weeks home with our daughter were so stressful. I started breast feeding at hospital and she was gassy, fussy, and having a hard time latching on. She hadnt gained enough weight either. I decided to switch to formula and started her on pro Advance. It gave her even more gas and diaherrea. Every time she went poop it was loud and watery! I thought it was the prebiotics so we switched to reg advanced non gmo. She cried after every feeding and wouldn’t sleep. Kept grunting and moaning. Then, she started to have one or two small specs of blood in stool. I freaked out!! Went to see pediatrician and she said she probably has a sensitivity to protein in milk or is allergic. None of us are allergic to milk products or lactose intolerant so I have no idea where this could’ve come from! I was still in denial and ended up switching to total comfort which is a Hydrolyzed formula. I figured it would help since it’s broken down a little. She calmed down a bit and seemed to be doing better. There wasn’t anymore blood in stool and she was sleeping longer but the consistency of stool was still watery. She was also still really gassy and grunting once in a while. I finally couldn’t take it anymore, I called the pediatrician again and she said to make the switch to alimentum. Shes been on the formula for 4 days and she’s a completely different baby! Her poop is normal and pretty :) lol! No loud gas, no grunting and moaning, sleeping more and no uncontrollable crying. She’s happy and actually smiling a lot more! This is the baby she was meant to be, It’s been awesome. Can’t wait for more to come. Thanks similac! Also, sign up for rewards program to receive coupons and earn free formula
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cannot praise this product enough!!! Our little man started having problems at about 3 weeks old. Incessant crying out in pain, inconsolable and would take approximately three to four drinks of his bottle and turn his head. As a first-time mom it absolutely terrified me that there was nothing I could do to help our precious new baby. We immediately call our pediatrician. The pediatrician recognized it as a formula allergy, and we be in the Long Road of trying new formulas. We went through every formula imaginable until finally Similac Alimentum. Within 3 to 4 days it was like we had a new baby. The reflux stopped, the crying out in pain stopped, and he was back to a happy healthy little guy! Since then I have had two acquaintances that I've had similar issues with their little ones. After telling them about Alimentum, their problems have resolved as well. I know the product can be pricey, but I would pay double if I had to just for the results and how much it is helped our little one.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but spendy This has worked wonders for my son who had tummy troubles from the very beginning and nothing seemed to help until we tried this. My only negative comment is that it is so expensive!!
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product- Need More Packaging Options This product was a game changer for our LO. Her reflux improved in two days, she slept better, cried less and her diaper rash improved from reduced number of BM’s (she was previously on Gentlease) however we will need to explore other options as she is not old enough to take powder yet and the 1 quart RTU option isn’t convenient when you have to take her anywhere. Please start packaging this in 2ounce and 8ounce RTU bottles for on the go!!!
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, but... Our Ped recommended we start using this formula as my son was spitting up constantly on the Pro-sensitive/breastmilk combination. He has been on this formula for about 3 weeks now and we have seen great improvements with him being able to keep it down, but he is going through the biggest container in 5 days (which is about $40 each). For this reason, we are going to start exploring other Hypoallergenic options. I would hate to have to take him off a formula that is really working for him, but is it just not realistic for us to pay $250 a month for just formula. If cost is no concern for you, I would recommend this product. But if you are on a budget, you may need to look elsewhere...
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome for babies with milk protein allergy i highly recommend this formula for babies with a really bad milk allergy. even though the formula is awesome (not so much the price) it solved my 5 week olds problems in no time. even though it solved his allergy problem, this formula is suppose to prevent or not cause colic and still gives my son horrible colic from time to time.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing This product saved our daughter from a horrible milk allergy. I would recommend it to all parents who are dealing with something similar!
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For any moms struggling to find the right formula for their baby, please I urge you to give this a try! I just wanted to thank you so much for making this amazing product. Our son is now thriving and growing rapidly and we have this formula to thank!
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for allergies not on price After trying Pro-Sensitive and Pro-Advanced, both of which my son was unable to tolerate, I was happy to find that he was able to take Similac Alimentum. My son has a suspected dairy allergy (spitting up, eczema, and gas). Since starting Alimentum my son has limited spitting up, his eczema has improved, and has less gas. Thank you for making a product that is compatible with children with allergies. Only con is the price of this product.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my 5 week old My 5week old was not pooping unless you used a qtip every single day. She was in so much pain to where she was turning red just trying to poop..we don't know if she's intolerant or allergic to anything yet but Gerber gentle and soothe caused severe pain and after 2 days on alimentum she finally pooped on her own..now after being on it for 4 days she's going on her own for the first time and she's so much more calm
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for milk protein allergy! My child has a milk protein allergy. Within 48 hours of starting this formula, we noticed a huge difference. Now he is doing amazing, no more bloody stools, vomiting, fussiness, or bellyaches!!! Highly recommend this formula if your baby has a milk protein allergy.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for milk allergy!! Cannot think similac enough for this product. Having four kids that were all similac babies, I knew similac was the way to go with baby number 5. At one month old she was diagnosed with a milk allergy and we were given this product to try. Went straight to the ready to feed, as that was recommended. Baby took right to it, and it worked wonders, fast!! Now, 7 months in, the cost is outrageous. I wish there was an alternative. Tried to introduce the powder version and still at 7 months she can’t tolerate it at all. Not sure why the ready to feed works so much better. I would recommend this product, just not the price.. Going through a quart a day is starting to break the bank..
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not working for my spit up baby My son is 4 months old he started on breastfeeding only then within the first 2 weeks I started supplementing with Similac Advanced the blue can and then it caused my son to be constipated he would grunt he be very gassy and very uncomfortable & would spit up a little also he would wake up and be very irritable so I assume it was to strong for my son. Then I switched him to the Similac Sensitive the orange can and he would spit up he would still be uncomfortable gassy and would grunt but it was better and less strong the the blue advance. I then switched him to the Similac spit up green can he was not fussy anymore he would be able to be comfortable but he would spit out and vomit the formula constantly after feeding after burp after an hour to two hours he would spit up and it would be like curdled or undigested milk. I would have to constantly change my son's clothes all day long and mine as well. I thought and my pediatrician thought due to the spit up formula being thicker it would do well for my son but it did not. I now have tried the Similac Alimentum formula that did so well for my older two children and he is spitting up that formula as well not as such high volume of spit up as the other three formulas but he is still spitting up. The smell of the formula is so strong as well so when he spits up it smells so gross. I have been using the Alimentum formula for 3 days now and I wanted to know how long I should try it for before i switch to total comfort or soy? I have had a sonogram done to my son stomach ordered by his pediatrician and they said that his stomach is fine and there's nothing wrong with his stomach I thought that there might be something wrong after he was using the sensitive so when he was switched over to the spit up formula he had a sonogram done to his stomach. So the only thing left for me to do now is try the soy and the total comfort to see if that will help with spit up if not then I guess I will need to talk to the pediatrician and get a barium swallow exam done. I would like someone to respond to this post from Similac so that way maybe I can get a suggestion if I should try soy or Total Comfort next due to the fact that none of these four formulas are helping my son with the spit up.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far this has helped our sweet girl thankfully. My 7wk old broke out in a rash head to toe for two days and has slowly increased spitting up since birth. Gas and fussiness wasn’t really a big problem but we tried similac pro sensitive and she was tolerating it ok for a week. She was still spitting up a little but then the rash came and next she began to have watery diarrhea with mucous and blood tinges in her stool. Our pediatrician has us switching to Alimentum and recommended that I go dairy free because I am breastfeeding her also. My main concern with corn maltodextrin being the first ingredient is why is this formula not non-gmo like your other products? As sensitive as infants are that have to switch to this formula I do not understand why it would not be #1 priority to make sure Alimentum was non-gmo...we are relieved that it has helped her so far but I do not want to continue it for a year if it is made with genetically engineered ingredients. Please advise, thank you in advance.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life saver for baby with milk allergy We are very grateful for this option for our milk protein allergic baby. After needing a supplement to breastfeeding, we tried Alimentum. The powder formula did not work for her, but the ready to feed has been wonderful! She has a super sensitive gut! We would love to continue the ready to feed long term, but the cost is a concern as she is going through an entire quart each day. It’s unfortunate that there’s not a more affordable option for babies with these gut sensitivities and allergies.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best When my baby was 6 months old, I thought it was time to introduce formula. She didn't do so great, was always crying and got a really bad rash. After doing some research, I found this formula. I'm so glad we tried it. Her skin is clear, and no more crying.... the product is great but, Its just expensive.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but... This is such a good product it's the only thing my baby can eat but it feels like I'm being punished every time I purchase it because it's so ridiculously expensive!! Almost $40 for a can that lasts two days! It's not our fault she has these allergies and this is the only thing she can tolerate.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Constipation My son was constipated for the first month after birth frequently. We switched 3 formulas and finally tried this one. Every 3 days he was recieving a suppository because it was so bad. 1 week on this formula and he has had a bowel movement everyday and is not uncomfortable like he was. Their poop does turn a little green from the formula though and it is expensive .
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for colic, not for pockets My son has been on 3 different similac formulas each making him constipated with hard stool, his doctor suggested Alimentum and promised that we would see a drastic change. After 2 days his crying/screaming “episodes” when he had to have painful bowel movements stopped. He was able to poop easier and became more calm and seemed pretty relieved. The downside to that is that he will only tolerate the ready to feed and he doesn’t like the taste compared to the similac sensitive ready to feed that he was previously on. At almost $11 a quart, with him drinking one quart per day it’s become a bill in our household. Great product so far, but its much too expensive for us and we may have to find an alternative.
Date published: 2018-04-06
  • y_2018, m_7, d_16, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_772
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT