Similac

Similac® Alimentum®

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

see a difference

Similac Alimentum starts reducing excessive crying due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity, in most infants, within 24 hours.*

Similac Alimentum is a trusted, easy-to-digest, and nutritionally complete infant formula for infants with food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity. Its formula is lactose-free and has DHA and ARA, special nutrients found in breast milk that are important to help support brain and eye development.

And now it’s available at your favorite retailer in a 19.8-oz VALUE SIZE, giving you over 60% more product. The VALUE SIZE makes 9 more 6-fl-oz bottles.

Learn more about protein sensitivity and colic-related crying.

To purchase Similac Alimentum hypoallergenic formula, click on the Buy Now button above for retailers near you.

sim-alimentum-banner-headline sim-alimentum-banner-headline-mob
Chart Comparing Formulas for Cow's Milk Allergy in Infants Chart Comparing Corn Content in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen Chart Comparing Palm Olein Oil in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen Chart Comparing Artificial Growth Hormones in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen

* Based on a clinical study with Similac Alimentum Ready to Feed without DHA and ARA in a small group of infants experiencing colic symptoms due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity. Data on File, Study AC84, August 2004. Abbott Nutrition. Columbus, Ohio.
† 63.6% more product as compared to 12.1-oz powder.
‡ Versus Alimentum 12.1-oz powder.
§ Nielsen data, January 2018.
ǁ Based on product label of 12.6-oz can, November 2018.
¶ No significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rbST-treated and non-rbST-treated cows.
# WIC is a service mark of the US Department of Agriculture, and an abbreviation for the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children. No endorsement of any brand or product by the USDA is implied or intended.
Nutramigen is not a registered trademark of Abbott Laboratories.

Similac Alimentum Hypoallergenic formula

Available In:

1.24-lb Powder

12.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity
WIC Eligible Alimentum Formula Icon Alimentum Corn-free Alternative Icon

Nutrition Information

12.1-oz Powder

Serving size: 100 Cal (5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    148

  • Protein Equivalent, g:

    2.75

  • Fat, g:

    5.54

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.2

  • Water, g:

    133

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    800

  • Potential Renal Solute Load, mOsm:

    25.3

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac Alimentum
Similac logo

Similac Alimentum Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product My son is a week old and his dr recommended Alimentum and when I gave it to him he was spitting up a lot then choked on it because it was thick mucus like spit up went to the hospital and they gave him 2 more ounces and he choked on his throw up again I will never get this again
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This formula helped our LO! Our LO had severe tongue and lip ties that prevented her from latching/breastfeeding, even after a laser dental procedure at 5 days old. I struggled to pump enough and supplimented with Similac Pro Total Comfort for the 1st 3 months. Our LO ate that formula exclusively from 3-6 months. All of a sudden at 6 months, she experienced explosive and constant diarrhea for 2 weeks. It got so bad that her diaper rash started to bleed.The pedicitrican recommended Soy formula which did lessen the diarrhea but it also gave her hives. So our 3rd option was Similac Alimentum. Within days her stool was back to normal, allowing the diaper rash to finally heal. She's been taking Similar Alimentum for the past 4 months. It is expensive and smells terrible BUT it helped us so much!! To offset the high cost, our pediatrician wrote a prescription so we're able to purchase it using FSA dollars (insurance). As we approach the 1 year mark, I'm terrified to try and reintroduce cow's milk. Fingers crossed!! Thank you to Similac Alimentum.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved our sanity This by far is the BEST formula! It was a lifesaver for our little girl. She was breastfed for the first 6 weeks and developed the worst colic our pediatrician said she had ever seen. We tried so many different formulas and there was no improvement. She cried so much one day that I took her to the emergency room and demanded them to do xrays on her to see if something was seriously wrong. All they could tell me was colic. My husband, baby and I were miserable for months. Finally when she was 6 months old we tried this formula and our little girl was healed. No more crying, fussiness, and gas! It was the first time she smiled and laughed. We couldn’t be more grateful for this formula.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Vomiting after use My daughter was on enfamil gentleease with diarrhea so I switched her to alimentum. I first tried the power and she vomited the whole thing so then I bought the ready to drink same thing, she vomited. So I just switched to nutrimegen. Hopefully she doesn’t have an reaction.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! We used ProAdvanced at birth to 2 months and it was ok he was gassy and ate a tonnnnn then we switched to Gerber Soothe for about 3 months. My babies stools were basically half stool half formula, couldn’t get him peaceful, he had a horrible time with stools, cried, and just was so gassy and uneasy. My doctor recommended us putting him on this. It’s double the cost but worth every dollar the last 7 months. He has easy stools, a regular stool, hasn’t had one upset stomach nor any signs of colic nor gas since the day he has started this formula. It has been a life saver. The smell isn’t the best but it’s formula so who cares. The biggest can defiantly gets your further along. He has been the happiest most comfortable baby since the day we introduced this! I couldn’t say enough good things about this product and I recommend it to everyone! So thankful for this!
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind I had a premature child and once my breastmilk stopped we tried neosure then pro total comfort (caused gas,spit up), sensitive (refused) then soy (refused all except 1.5 oz.).. went back to neosure until we could figure out our next step, it (and soy) caused him to get congested and rashy.. it's been half a day and he isn't as gassy, seems more relaxed and most of the rash is gone.. he absolutely loves the taste and drinks more than previous formulas and can't wait for it to take full effect.
Date published: 2019-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great formula/ Horrible container PRO-After trying 6 different formulas we tried this one and it was the magical formula that worked. We noticed a change within a week, my baby's acne had completely resolved, he didn't have horrendous poops or loud farts/belches, he wasn't throwing up 1/2 or more of his feedings, and his colic 100% resolved. I would recommend this to anyone that has tried sensitive tummy formulas and are still having issues. However I would try different brands of the sensitive tummy milks before resorting to this. All babies are different and what will work on one might not work on another, also there is quite a few store generic brands that might be more cost effective. Because well lets be honest this milk is super expensive. I am going through a 19.8 oz can every week at 40$ and my baby is only 3 months old drinking 3 oz at a time. I am on a fixed income and unfortunately Similac does not send out enough coupons/checks. The welcome package was nice and we had checks that lasted that first month, but they don't sent them out as frequently as you need to purchase milk CON- You should make this milk available in the same quantity that you do the other formula that you offer. Before my son was on this formula he was on the similac pro-total comfort 22.5 oz plastic can. I miss this can and wish you would use it for the alimentum as well. The plastic can is amazing because it has a holder for the scoop so your not always digging around looking for it, the sides of the container are flat so you can get an even scoop, and the lid is a hinge which makes one handed (other hand holding baby) bottle making A LOT easier.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Something that Works My son tried 4 different formulas before we found this God sent Similac Alimentum! Before this formula my son had excessive gas, constipation and colic. About 3 days after feeding him the ready to feed formula he was a much better baby! He would only cry if he was hungry. Though the ready to feed is on the pricey side it is definately worth your baby not being in misery.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product in ready to feed The ready to feed was the seventh formula that my son tried and it finally worked! He would scream all day long and was in horrible pain after eating. Before this we did try the powder and like the reviews I have read, it is a different formula from the ready to feed. My son broke out in a horrible rash all over his face, neck, and head. His ears became like sandpaper. With in the first 24 hours of trying the ready to feed I noticed a significant difference in my son. my only complaint is that its super hard to find and very very very expensive. The larger container also leaks out when you pour it which is annoying since it isnt exactly cost effective. I also am having a hard time finding a store that carries the 8oz cans.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandson tolerates this teal well. My daughter was having trouble with other formulas but this is helping him with digestion and peacefulness.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ready to feed vs. Powder- Why would they not be the same? Love the ready to feed Alimentum for my 6 week old. With my baby, this vs. other formula has been a night and day difference. We started with Enfamil Infant which caused a lot of spitting up and gas. We then switched to Similac Pro Advance which Everything seemed worse. From that we went to Sensitive and Pro Sensitive with no change. He was miserable and he would cry all day long. We decided to try the ready feed Alimentum and noticed a difference with the first bottle because he did not fuss and drank the entire bottle. Once I saw he did amazing with the ready feed Alimentum I bought the powder (Thinking IT WAS the same) boy was I wrong. His reaction to the powder was the worst I have EVER seen him. He was only able to get one once down and he kept bowing his back and had the worst gas. He screamed at the top of his lungs and puked. I decided the next day to give it another go because, let’s be honest, $40 is a lot of money when you are a family of 5. He had the same reaction. Reading the ingredients on both they are not even the same! The powder has corn. How could both of these be sold under the same name and be different? Now I’m out $40! The ready to feed I will definitely continue, but VERY disappointed with the powder.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Food allergies with Eczema Our son is 9 months old and was breastfeed exclusively till 8 months when my supply ran low. He was diagnosed with eczema around 4 months which we used an elimination diet to help. We found that He couldn’t tolerate Dairy or eggs. We started supplementing him w/ enfamil Prosobee Soy formula but when we made the complete switch to strictly formula we noticed more eczema outbreaks that were becoming unmanageable. When I mentioned this to our Pediatrician she recommended the Similac Alimentum. I went out and purchased the lg powdered formula and made an 8oz bottle for his next feeding, he drank 4oz then instantly threw it up followed by a massive diarrhea diaper 20-30min later. He continued to spit up for the following hour I could only assume until he got it ALL out of his system. I can only assume from some of the prior comments that maybe it’s a corn allergy. I will not be buying this product again. Hopefully the store will take it back, if not I’m out $40.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Alimentum Started similac Alimentum it's a bit pricey but Dr said it should work in 15 days, hoping to see improvements soon with constipation, I have other similac formula that wasnt helping. Said they would mail coupons but never received any.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Crummy Tummy We tried and failed with 4 other formulas on my little one and Alimentum RTF was the only one that she tolerated. I really miss the $5 printable/emailed coupon though. It made her formula affordable.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only Formula My Daughter Could Tolerate We tried 8 different formulas, including the Alimentum powder, and my daughter projectile vomiting all of them before we found Alimentum ready to feed. This was the first formula she was able to keep down, therefore, we suspect my daughter has a corn intolerance. Based on this, I'd give the formula 10 stars!! However, in the two months (roughly 50 bottles of ready to feed) that we've use the formula there has been 4 incidents where I've had to throw a brand new bottle away due to it being spoiled when I open it. The first time it happen, my daughter screamed and yelled and refused the bottle. After multiple attempts during that day, I took my daughter to the pediatrician thinking something was wrong but he didn't find anything wrong. My pediatrician suggested I open a new bottle of ready to feed and she if she'd take it, sure enough she sucked this bottle down with no issues. When I compared the contents of the two ready to feed bottles, the one she had refused appeared to be more yellow in color and no matter how much I tried to mix it, it still separated. The formula is expensive, but well worth it if my daughter is happy and eating! But if roughly 8% of the product I purchase goes to waste, mommy is not going to be happy! I'm hoping this is just a fluke and maybe I bought a bad batch???
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Power isnt the same as ready to feed My baby has been on similac alimentum ready to feed for 2 months with no problems. Over the weekend i switched her milk to the powder for the second time and my baby has broke out so bad both times. i just switched back today but have a appointment this week to figure this out.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truely the best formula for protein sensitivity! I cannot day enough good things about this formula. After trying almost every kind of formula out there for my daughter who had trouble eating, would scream constantly, struggled with severe constipation and had horrible reflux we finally landed on Alimentum! Our little girl always cried around feeding time because as soon as any other formula hit her tummy she was in pain when we gave her the first bottle of Alimentum she drank a little and prepared herself for pain she started to cry and then stopped and couldn’t drink the bottle fast enough I cried and cried since she was born we had never seen her enjoy eating. Now not only does she enjoy eating but her other issues were resolved as well no more constant screaming, no more constipation, and it significantly improved her colic. She finally smiles and is a happy baby! This formula saved our little girl from being miserable and we can’t thank Similac enough! She is happy and still thriving on Alimentum, thanks Similac!!!!
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Colic Cure A few weeks after bringing our first born home we realized that colic was a real and horrible issue that plagues newborns. After nights of nonstop screaming, many tears and trying everything there is to offer, our pediatrician recommend Alimentum. We noticed a difference that very night! The nightly screaming fits that lasted at least four hours were gone! In one day! Our sweet son Leo has been on Alimentum for almost a month now and the difference is night and day. Our new family is able to enjoy every minute together instead of dreading nighttime’s. I cannot thank you enough for this amazing product and making a new family feel back in control.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful formula; horrible bottle After trying multiple formula, we finally settled on the Alimentum Ready to Feed for our son who was struggling to keep any and all formulas down due to reflux. It worked wonders, not only could he finish a whole bottle without pulling off the nipple to cry but he spit up much less. He was finally able to put on weight, sleeps easier and is so much happier. The only reason I can't give 5 stars is the terrible bottle design! Every time the bottle is opened formula spills over the lip and out of the lid so we end up losing formula. I wouldn't mind so much but it is really expensive, so we now transfer from the original container to a different one that doesn't leak.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Our little one has had the hardest time with formula. He started with enfamil and the worse allergic reaction. So we switched to similac pro advantage, made him SO gassy! They had us switch to sensitive, still so gassy, fussy, constantly in pain :(. They had us try total comfort and then finally soy. All of them made him miserable. Constantly spitting up, having the hardest time pooping! Then we were told he shouldn’t be in soy because he’s a preemie and it’s not recommended for them. Talk about frustrating! We have tubs of barely used formula that we’ve wasted money on! And there’s nothing we can do about it! So we finally tried the alimentum. So far, so good. You can tell he’s not a fan of the taste, but he drinks it and doesn’t spit up! It is rather expensive which I was hoping it wouldn’t be. But I’m happy he’s doing better
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome formula! Only formula my children would/ could drink.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped weight gain and digestion happy baby now This formula made me see a huge change in my son's weight gain (skyrocketed) , bathroom habits (no longer constipated) and all around made.him such a happy baby
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powder and ready to feed not the same The powder upset my sons stomach and we had already bought a case of it due to his milk allergy. Something is definitely different (maybe and ingredient or something) about the powder.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powder and Ready to Feed Not the Same Our little one has been on Alimentum due to a milk allergy and his prematurity not letting him use soy. It was a great help with his reflux as well. We recently decided to try the powder due to the high cost of ready to feed. After one ounce of the powdered, our child was just as irritated as he was with the milk allergy. After a couple of attempts blaming the bottle and reflux, we determined it wasn’t those things after we fed him the ready to feed again and he was completely fine. I’m not sure what the difference is between the powder and ready to feed- but there is definitely one. It is unfortunate because the powder is more cost effective. We should be able to use it since it is the technically same product.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My baby couldn’t use it My daughter is 3 weeks old and she did not do well on this formula , I was using the ready to feed with her and she stayed very gassy and throwing up . I switched to pro-advance powder with no issues and that’s what I’ve been using since we left the hospital she does great on it . I breastfeed as well so formula lasts forever but in the hospital I couldn’t hold her she had jaundice and had to stay on the lights for 4 days .
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New baby Amazing!!!! No issues at all. Every other formula gave my baby issues.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Alimentum rtf and powder is not same We loved alimentum rtf and due to cost we switched powder formula and it was horrible since my baby has corn allergy.. Similac should label it differently and now we have two big boxes sitting on the counter waiting to go trash....
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my baby a lot but smells aweful. I could ses a difference the same evening after starting this formula. My lil one slept so good it helped get her back to her normal happy and easy going self.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Alimentum formula So far so good! Our daughter had tried similac pro advance,sensitive and total comfort and they made her throw up constantly and she cried all the time and had acid reflux from it. Now we are seeing great improvements in her behavior and she is a happy baby finally! The only thing we dislike is the smell of this formula.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works for my baby My son has acid reflux and this is the only formula that works. Never had any problems but the smell is awful.
Date published: 2019-02-18
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_873
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
amazonpixel
close-btn