Similac

Similac® Alimentum®

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

see a difference

Similac Alimentum starts reducing excessive crying due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity, in most infants, within 24 hours.

Similac Alimentum is a trusted, easy-to-digest, and nutritionally complete infant formula for infants with food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity. Its formula is lactose-free and has DHA and ARA, special nutrients found in breast milk that are important to help support brain and eye development.

And now it’s available at your favorite retailer in a 19.8-oz VALUE SIZE, giving you over 60% more product. The VALUE SIZE makes 9 more 6-fl-oz bottles.§

Learn more about protein sensitivity and colic-related crying.

To purchase Similac Alimentum hypoallergenic formula, click on the Buy Now button above for retailers near you.

sim-alimentum-banner-headline sim-alimentum-banner-headline-mob
Chart Comparing Formulas for Cow's Milk Allergy in Infants Chart Comparing Corn Content in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen Chart Comparing Palm Olein Oil in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen Chart Comparing Artificial Growth Hormones in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen

* Nielsen data, January 2018.
† Based on a clinical study with Similac Alimentum Ready to Feed without DHA and ARA in a small group of infants experiencing colic symptoms due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity. Data on File, Study AC84, August 2004. Abbott Nutrition. Columbus, Ohio.
‡ 63.6% more product as compared to 12.1-oz powder.
§ Versus Alimentum 12.1-oz powder.
ǁ Based on product label of 12.6-oz can, November 2018.
¶ No significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rbST-treated and non-rbST-treated cows.
# WIC is a service mark of the US Department of Agriculture, and an abbreviation for the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children. No endorsement of any brand or product by the USDA is implied or intended.
Nutramigen is not a registered trademark of Abbott Laboratories.

Similac Alimentum Hypoallergenic formula
allergy-image

Available In:

1.24-lb Powder

12.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity
WIC Eligible Alimentum Formula Icon Alimentum Corn-free Alternative Icon

Nutrition Information

12.1-oz Powder

Serving size: 100 Cal (5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    148

  • Protein Equivalent, g:

    2.75

  • Fat, g:

    5.54

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.2

  • Water, g:

    133

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    800

  • Potential Renal Solute Load, mOsm:

    25.3

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac Alimentum
Similac logo

Similac Alimentum Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad we switched My son struggled with colic, gas and constipation. He was 1 1/2 month and we changed his formula three different times before finding relief with Alimentum! He is now 3 months and he is so happy! No more fussing, gas or constipation. The only problem is that it is so expensive and insurance doesn’t cover it.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helped my son do a 360 My son has been on 3 different types of formula. Everything caused him pain and all be did was cry. Nothing worked. My breastmilk made him cry even more. Come to find out my son who is 3 months old has a milk protein allergy. This formula helped him immediately. He has been pooping everyday. He eats more, he doesn't cry as much unless he is hungry tired or needs a diaper change. I'll spend 30 bucks a can on my son. Each month I'm paying close to 300 bucks for formula but I wouldn't trade it for the world. If only they could lower their prices it would be amazing. My son w9ont take the instant made formula. Only the powder.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my baby significantly! My 5 week old baby had been using Similac Pro Advance since birth but always had trouble with gas and spitting up/vomiting. She was just recently noted to have traces of blood in her poop so she was switched to Alimentum and she has been so much more comfortable! The spitting up has almost completely gone away and she doesn't strain as much when having a bowel movement. Her gas has significantly lessened too. We go back next week to make sure the stool is negative for blood but so far I'm really hopeful. The biggest downsides are the smell and the price but if it helps her then that's all that matters.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ready feed different than powder After trying 2 other similac products, we found out my son is sensitive to milk and so we started on alimentum. We thought we had it all figured out when we started on the ready feed and noticed a total difference but after switching him to the powder he got colicky and had constipation issues again. Turns out it's because the powder and ready feed are very very different. I bought a case-6 cans of powder, that I now don't even know we will be able to use, so I'll be out $180 if we go back to the very expensive ready to feed.
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Do u have coupons for this product? This is the only formula my baby can tolerate since my breast milk has stopped. She is not quite 3 mos yet. Do u can coupons for this product, it's very expensive. Thank u.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The smell :( I’ve been feeding my baby breat milk only no formals at all but now at 10 months I’m not producing as much so I heard this was a good choice. After trying it she literally gave me the worst look like whatever happened to her real milk and didn’t want anything to do it it. After smelling it I think I understood why, it literally smells like rotten cheese. I’m just glad I only got a small can, and after reading the comments no way I’ll feed her stuff with corn. I hope I find something better
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ready to feed is much better then powder My baby is 7 weeks, and she was drinking, enfamil infant, then we switched her to gentelease due to gasses and spit ups, that didn’t work, so went to Enfamil A.R because maybe it can help with the Spit ups, that didn’t work either, she wouldn’t even finish half the bottle. Then some one recommended Similac Alimentum, so I went to the nearest store and purchased the alimentum ready to feed, to give it a try. It worked wonderful, she drank it completely with no complaints. No more gasses, limited spit ups, So I told my self, we found the one. So I went ahead and purchased the powder version which by the way it was $30. She couldn’t stand it, she will drink 1oz and start screaming and crying, so we tried a couple more bottles and nothing. She was extremely hungry, so I rushed to the store and bought another ready to feed bottle, and bingo she drank it again. So the conclusion is the ready to feed and powder looks to me that are different, and I think Similac should advised parents. Because one is spending a fortune on these formulas. Its depressing.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powder and ready to feed are different formulas! My baby was started on alimentum at the age of 7 weeks for a milk allergy. We purchased both a can of alimentum powder and a bottle of the ready to feed formula to get us started. We quickly noticed that she tolerated the ready to feed formula way better than the powder. After drinking the powder formula my baby would scream in pain. Because of this we looked at the ingredients of each and realized that the ingredients are completely different! Now we are stuck with a $40 can of open formula that we can’t use! The powder has a ton of Corn Maltodextrin and the ready to feed doesn’t have any! After doing some research we have found that there are some babies that can’t tolerate corn. How can Abbott/Similac get away with labeling two completely different formulas as being the same? This is misleading to the consumer. Shame on you Abbott/Similac! If the ready to feed formula is the only formula we can give our baby then we are looking at paying roughly $300 per month on formula. Hopefully our insurance will be able to supplement the cost.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge difference for our newborn We just tried Similac Alimentum yesterday after it was recommended by our Pediatrician. Our newborn was on Similac Total Care since birth and seemed to be doing okay but was getting some painful gas after about day 10. We switched yesterday and have seen a 100% difference! Not only has he not been gassy, he doesn’t seem to be in pain when burping or trying to have a BM. I’m so surprised at the difference! My husband and I also love that the formula mixes better, leaving no clumps of formula which ensures that he is getting all the needed nutrients from the formula. We also love that there are no bubbles when mixed! The only negative thing I could say is that it has a bit of a funky smell but it’s not a big deal compared to other formulas I have smelled before. The fact that our baby is able to eat and be happy is way more important than the smell anyway! I think this may be the perfect formula for our little one!
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It gave my daughter major constipation I changed my daughter from Gerber Gentle Ease to Similac Alimentum because my daughter has an issue with food allergies like whey and milk based so I figured I would try this. Big mistake because it gave her major constipation to the point where it made her scream in pain. She was miserable for hours. It took me feeding her prunes from a baby food jar to loosen her stools a little bit and me to physically help her pass the stool for her to feel better. I'm going to finish this formula up but then I'm going to have to switch her on to a different formula. Similac Alimentum does not do what it says it's going to do. She also spit up the formula once her body started getting used to it within 12 hours. I can not bear to see my daughter in such pain so I do not suggest this formula for any parent to give to their child.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Total change in one day! Weve tried so many similac products and was struggling with her constipation, turns out she has a slight milk allergy. So the dr put her on this and within a day I noticed a total 360, she doesnt spit up, shes not gassy or fussy, although it took a but for her to eat it because you can tell she doesnt like the taste. It is rather pricey. But weve been buying the giant cans of the others so it was like buying the same but I wish this one came in a giant can as well. Rather than buying 2 every pay I'll have to buy 3 or 4 of these cans.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I was really worried that she was not going to tolerate this formula and that it's was going to smell horrible because of some of the reviews on it. But after she could not tolerate anything else and couldn't handle breast milk I had no choice because she was so sick. She LOVES it and her body handles it wonderfully and to me it does not smell unless she burpes lol. To me it smells like the puppy formula or kitten formula I used to feed rescues. I love this stuff yes it's is expensive but way worth it!!
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only formula that has worked for our little one This is the 6th formula we have had to try with our 5 month old, and so far it is working great! She has had issues with spitting up, so we thought after a couple formulas we had it figured out, only to find out that that particular formula caused constipation. We have always been brand loyal to Similac and they did not disappoint this time either. Although this formula does smell horribly and it took a few days for my daughter to fully "enjoy" the taste, it has worked miracles, it's easy to mix, not frothy like some of the others either. I did have to take away one star though because I wish the can size/price were comparabe to the other Similac Pro-series formulas.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please remove CORN from the recipe! My dear sweet little baby can only drink the alimentum ready to feed. She would be able to drink the powdered version IF it did not contain corn maltodextrin. She can not tolerate corn derivatives (including the maltodextrin in this formula). You would save moms money and headache if you'd remove corn from your powdered version of this formula! Babies who are sensitive to dairy often have multiple allergies when they are little - removing corn (a major allergen for some!) makes sense, so please consider doing it!
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for us My baby was on similac pro-sensitive and would drink 4-5 oz at each feeding. She was gassy though, so much that everyone in my family asked me if I was going to change formula. So I finally did and tried this one. The smell is horrible, and my baby totally didn’t like it. She refused to drink it. I would try over and over. :( She would just cry because she was hungry and would not eat it even when hungry. :( It was so expensive and will be going back to the pro-sensitive for now. I rather her eat and be gassy than not eat.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy baby Our newborn from day one was very fussy and would scream nonstop for up to 7 hours a day was not pooping and spitting up so much so we switched from regular to the sensitive with no results 2 weeks ago his Dr recommended this formula within the day I finally had a happy baby he stopped screaming he now poops regularly and I can now enjoy my baby the smell is definitly nasty but I rather deal with the smell then hear my baby scream all day it's worth paying the higher price for
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need a small bottle for travelling This milk has been helpful for my son. My biggest complaint is that the ready to feed formula should also be available in small bottles. Every time I have to take my son to the doctor I have to throw the entire bottle out because there is not place to refrigerate it. Please make small bottles for ready to feed.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smells and taste horrible My LO is having a hard time drinking this formula. It smells bad and taste horrible. The only way I could get her to drink it is by adding non alcoholic vanilla extract or banana purée or agave syrup to it.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent My baby has milk allergy, we tried nutramigen and was a disaster immediately we switch to alimentum and our live change, he is a happy baby no more gas problems, no reflux, no vomiting, I am so happy that we didn’t have to go to the gastroenterologist thank to alimentum. We love you Similac. And I can use my coupons all the time in Target!! So so happy!
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big improvement Our son was diagnosed with a milk protein allergy. We started this formula immediately and it was like night & day. He improved right away and is now gaining weight and growing. The only downside is the lack of options for purchasing. I'd like to be able to purchase larger containers of the powder and the small bottles of the prepared liquid.
Date published: 2018-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not For Us Doctor had us try this formula as supplement to see if maybe our baby had a milk allergy. First off let me just say that the smell is horrible. My baby was gagging and coughing the formula up, which turned into refusing to eat. Then she didn't poop for 2 whole days and went from a very happy baby to a very cranky, screaming, and crying baby. It was honestly like night and day. We stopped this formula and went back to our original and it's working much better and she is her happy self again. This product may work for some, but not for us.
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TERRIBLE-would give it 0 stars if possible Originally started after Similac sensivitive as my baby was having horrible colic, and later found out silent reflux as well. RTF wasn't as bad as powder. But once my son started on powder it was like I had a completely different baby. Crying and screaming bloody murder constantly. Diarrhea after every feeding. Constant pain, clenching legs to chest all the time. Baby didn't want to eat much. Awful spit up, coughing and choking. Horrible gas that couldn't be relieved. Sorry Similac. We started Nutramigen, within 12 hours, way different baby.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Differs each can I am highly disappointed with the quality of this formula. My daughter has been on it for two months and some cans are great and others smell even worse than normal and are a funny color. Those cans my daughter spits up every bottle. The times when the formula still has a smell to it, but is an off white color she does fine. I am upset because these cans cost 40$ a pop. I am switching her out because its scary not knowing how the formula is being processed that causes these inconsistencies.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy baby, happy mama This formula was a godsend! We're first time parents and thought newborns were just fussy all of the time. We tried soy formula and it was a little easier on our baby than breastmilk, but still not great. Then our doctor gave us Alimentum samples and changed our world! Our baby is a much better sleeper and so much happier! It's expensive, but having a happy baby is priceless.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's so expensive but it works. Just please do something about the awful smell My baby has been on this product for about 1 day and I can already see an improvement. She is not so fuzzy and doesn't seem to be cramping so much. Just please do something about that smell. It is revolting. And it can easily put you totally off.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it My son is a month old and we have been through a bunch of formulas. We found out the he had alot of blood in his stool from soy milk so they switch us to this which is very expensive but it's better then having a fussy baby always in pain from stomach problems. It be nice to get some samples in the formula but nothing is worth having your baby in pain
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I absolutely love this formula. I just switched my daughter 2 days ago. When she was first born she was on the pro-advance well of course where I live WIC only covers Gerber and it was messing her stomach up bad and she wasn’t able to digest it. I ended up with a fussy baby all day everyday and nothing I could could help her. I finally took a leap of faith and switched her and I won’t go back to anything else. I’ve signed up with the Similac Strong Moms program but it would be awesome to get more samples in the mail of the Alimentum. I’m hoping my WIC will approve her to be switched. Cause the formula is expensive. Wish it was more affordable.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! Thank God for WIC!! This is the only formula that my daughter could use
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing but expensive My now 2 year old daughter starting using this formula at 6 months and it helped her so much, but the price was killer as we were a young couple. We just had a baby boy 2 months ago and I was dead set against using this formula because of how expensive it is. We tried pro-advanced and pro-sensitive. Both were making him throw up, and he was having a lot of trouble pooping. Finally I have in and we switched him to alimentum. He is back to being a happy baby, and eats with no problems. He rarely spits up now and when he does it’s very small amounts and he is able to poop with ease, we usually don’t even know now until we smell it. I do wish it didn’t cost so much but in the end it’s well worth it for my baby’s health and happiness!
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working for our little guy Our little guy has been having tummy issues for a while and we have been going through many formulas to find the right one. After lots of questions and going over his reflux episode. Our doctor recommended a non diary formula. The first one we tried, made his little tummy full of gas and so we moved on to this formula in the ready to feed, powered formula seems to upset his tummy. We notice a change on day two. He was much happier decrease in reflux episode and less spitting up. The only down side is the cost of this formula. It's hard when your on a budget, but well make it work for our little guy.
Date published: 2018-10-27
  • y_2019, m_3, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_841
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
amazonpixel
close-btn