Similac

Similac® Alimentum®

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

see a difference

Similac Alimentum starts reducing excessive crying due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity, in most infants, within 24 hours.*

Similac Alimentum is a trusted, easy-to-digest, and nutritionally complete infant formula for infants with food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity. Its formula is lactose-free and has DHA and ARA, special nutrients found in breast milk that are important to help support brain and eye development.

And now it’s available at your favorite retailer in a 19.8-oz VALUE SIZE, giving you over 60% more product. The VALUE SIZE makes 9 more 6-fl-oz bottles.

Learn more about protein sensitivity and colic-related crying.

To purchase Similac Alimentum hypoallergenic formula, click on the Buy Now button above for retailers near you.

sim-alimentum-banner-headline sim-alimentum-banner-headline-mob
Chart Comparing Formulas for Cow's Milk Allergy in Infants Chart Comparing Corn Content in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen Chart Comparing Palm Olein Oil in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen Chart Comparing Artificial Growth Hormones in Similac Alimentum and Nutramigen

* Based on a clinical study with Similac Alimentum Ready to Feed without DHA and ARA in a small group of infants experiencing colic symptoms due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity. Data on File, Study AC84, August 2004. Abbott Nutrition. Columbus, Ohio.
† 63.6% more product as compared to 12.1-oz powder.
‡ Versus Alimentum 12.1-oz powder.
§ Nielsen data, January 2018.
ǁ Based on product label of 12.6-oz can, November 2018.
¶ No significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rbST-treated and non-rbST-treated cows.
# WIC is a service mark of the US Department of Agriculture, and an abbreviation for the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children. No endorsement of any brand or product by the USDA is implied or intended.
Nutramigen is not a registered trademark of Abbott Laboratories.

Similac Alimentum Hypoallergenic formula

Available In:

1.24-lb Powder

12.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity
WIC Eligible Alimentum Formula Icon Alimentum Corn-free Alternative Icon

Nutrition Information

12.1-oz Powder

Serving size: 100 Cal (5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    148

  • Protein Equivalent, g:

    2.75

  • Fat, g:

    5.54

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.2

  • Water, g:

    133

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    800

  • Potential Renal Solute Load, mOsm:

    25.3

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac Alimentum
Similac logo

Similac Alimentum Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Our little one has had the hardest time with formula. He started with enfamil and the worse allergic reaction. So we switched to similac pro advantage, made him SO gassy! They had us switch to sensitive, still so gassy, fussy, constantly in pain :(. They had us try total comfort and then finally soy. All of them made him miserable. Constantly spitting up, having the hardest time pooping! Then we were told he shouldn’t be in soy because he’s a preemie and it’s not recommended for them. Talk about frustrating! We have tubs of barely used formula that we’ve wasted money on! And there’s nothing we can do about it! So we finally tried the alimentum. So far, so good. You can tell he’s not a fan of the taste, but he drinks it and doesn’t spit up! It is rather expensive which I was hoping it wouldn’t be. But I’m happy he’s doing better
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome formula! Only formula my children would/ could drink.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped weight gain and digestion happy baby now This formula made me see a huge change in my son's weight gain (skyrocketed) , bathroom habits (no longer constipated) and all around made.him such a happy baby
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powder and ready to feed not the same The powder upset my sons stomach and we had already bought a case of it due to his milk allergy. Something is definitely different (maybe and ingredient or something) about the powder.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powder and Ready to Feed Not the Same Our little one has been on Alimentum due to a milk allergy and his prematurity not letting him use soy. It was a great help with his reflux as well. We recently decided to try the powder due to the high cost of ready to feed. After one ounce of the powdered, our child was just as irritated as he was with the milk allergy. After a couple of attempts blaming the bottle and reflux, we determined it wasn’t those things after we fed him the ready to feed again and he was completely fine. I’m not sure what the difference is between the powder and ready to feed- but there is definitely one. It is unfortunate because the powder is more cost effective. We should be able to use it since it is the technically same product.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My baby couldn’t use it My daughter is 3 weeks old and she did not do well on this formula , I was using the ready to feed with her and she stayed very gassy and throwing up . I switched to pro-advance powder with no issues and that’s what I’ve been using since we left the hospital she does great on it . I breastfeed as well so formula lasts forever but in the hospital I couldn’t hold her she had jaundice and had to stay on the lights for 4 days .
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New baby Amazing!!!! No issues at all. Every other formula gave my baby issues.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Alimentum rtf and powder is not same We loved alimentum rtf and due to cost we switched powder formula and it was horrible since my baby has corn allergy.. Similac should label it differently and now we have two big boxes sitting on the counter waiting to go trash....
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my baby a lot but smells aweful. I could ses a difference the same evening after starting this formula. My lil one slept so good it helped get her back to her normal happy and easy going self.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Alimentum formula So far so good! Our daughter had tried similac pro advance,sensitive and total comfort and they made her throw up constantly and she cried all the time and had acid reflux from it. Now we are seeing great improvements in her behavior and she is a happy baby finally! The only thing we dislike is the smell of this formula.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works for my baby My son has acid reflux and this is the only formula that works. Never had any problems but the smell is awful.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Milk protien allergy My daughter is 4 months with a milk protien allergy. She was drinking the similac ready to feed and doing well .Her dad came home with the powder version thinking it was the same thing to my dismay, my poor baby has been having explosive diarrhea. The ready to feed and the powder formula are completely different. Now I have 6 cans of this powder formula thats she cant even use . This has been a struggle I feel so bad for my poor baby.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great formula more gentle then nutramigen Tried my baby on several formulas after she was diagnosed with a milk protein sensitivity.. she was doing fine on the alementum but daycare said she was spitting up so i tried the nutramigen that was the worst mistake she was fussy gassy and had diarrhea and a horrible diaper rash ... so after 2 weeks of that i put her back on alementum and she is doing great .. if you switch to alementum and your baby is still having problems you should try yhe ready to feed because it is easy on the babys stomach because it is corn free some babys that are believed to have milk allergys actually have corn sensitivitys
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad we switched My son struggled with colic, gas and constipation. He was 1 1/2 month and we changed his formula three different times before finding relief with Alimentum! He is now 3 months and he is so happy! No more fussing, gas or constipation. The only problem is that it is so expensive and insurance doesn’t cover it.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helped my son do a 360 My son has been on 3 different types of formula. Everything caused him pain and all be did was cry. Nothing worked. My breastmilk made him cry even more. Come to find out my son who is 3 months old has a milk protein allergy. This formula helped him immediately. He has been pooping everyday. He eats more, he doesn't cry as much unless he is hungry tired or needs a diaper change. I'll spend 30 bucks a can on my son. Each month I'm paying close to 300 bucks for formula but I wouldn't trade it for the world. If only they could lower their prices it would be amazing. My son w9ont take the instant made formula. Only the powder.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my baby significantly! My 5 week old baby had been using Similac Pro Advance since birth but always had trouble with gas and spitting up/vomiting. She was just recently noted to have traces of blood in her poop so she was switched to Alimentum and she has been so much more comfortable! The spitting up has almost completely gone away and she doesn't strain as much when having a bowel movement. Her gas has significantly lessened too. We go back next week to make sure the stool is negative for blood but so far I'm really hopeful. The biggest downsides are the smell and the price but if it helps her then that's all that matters.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ready feed different than powder After trying 2 other similac products, we found out my son is sensitive to milk and so we started on alimentum. We thought we had it all figured out when we started on the ready feed and noticed a total difference but after switching him to the powder he got colicky and had constipation issues again. Turns out it's because the powder and ready feed are very very different. I bought a case-6 cans of powder, that I now don't even know we will be able to use, so I'll be out $180 if we go back to the very expensive ready to feed.
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Do u have coupons for this product? This is the only formula my baby can tolerate since my breast milk has stopped. She is not quite 3 mos yet. Do u can coupons for this product, it's very expensive. Thank u.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The smell :( I’ve been feeding my baby breat milk only no formals at all but now at 10 months I’m not producing as much so I heard this was a good choice. After trying it she literally gave me the worst look like whatever happened to her real milk and didn’t want anything to do it it. After smelling it I think I understood why, it literally smells like rotten cheese. I’m just glad I only got a small can, and after reading the comments no way I’ll feed her stuff with corn. I hope I find something better
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ready to feed is much better then powder My baby is 7 weeks, and she was drinking, enfamil infant, then we switched her to gentelease due to gasses and spit ups, that didn’t work, so went to Enfamil A.R because maybe it can help with the Spit ups, that didn’t work either, she wouldn’t even finish half the bottle. Then some one recommended Similac Alimentum, so I went to the nearest store and purchased the alimentum ready to feed, to give it a try. It worked wonderful, she drank it completely with no complaints. No more gasses, limited spit ups, So I told my self, we found the one. So I went ahead and purchased the powder version which by the way it was $30. She couldn’t stand it, she will drink 1oz and start screaming and crying, so we tried a couple more bottles and nothing. She was extremely hungry, so I rushed to the store and bought another ready to feed bottle, and bingo she drank it again. So the conclusion is the ready to feed and powder looks to me that are different, and I think Similac should advised parents. Because one is spending a fortune on these formulas. Its depressing.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powder and ready to feed are different formulas! My baby was started on alimentum at the age of 7 weeks for a milk allergy. We purchased both a can of alimentum powder and a bottle of the ready to feed formula to get us started. We quickly noticed that she tolerated the ready to feed formula way better than the powder. After drinking the powder formula my baby would scream in pain. Because of this we looked at the ingredients of each and realized that the ingredients are completely different! Now we are stuck with a $40 can of open formula that we can’t use! The powder has a ton of Corn Maltodextrin and the ready to feed doesn’t have any! After doing some research we have found that there are some babies that can’t tolerate corn. How can Abbott/Similac get away with labeling two completely different formulas as being the same? This is misleading to the consumer. Shame on you Abbott/Similac! If the ready to feed formula is the only formula we can give our baby then we are looking at paying roughly $300 per month on formula. Hopefully our insurance will be able to supplement the cost.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge difference for our newborn We just tried Similac Alimentum yesterday after it was recommended by our Pediatrician. Our newborn was on Similac Total Care since birth and seemed to be doing okay but was getting some painful gas after about day 10. We switched yesterday and have seen a 100% difference! Not only has he not been gassy, he doesn’t seem to be in pain when burping or trying to have a BM. I’m so surprised at the difference! My husband and I also love that the formula mixes better, leaving no clumps of formula which ensures that he is getting all the needed nutrients from the formula. We also love that there are no bubbles when mixed! The only negative thing I could say is that it has a bit of a funky smell but it’s not a big deal compared to other formulas I have smelled before. The fact that our baby is able to eat and be happy is way more important than the smell anyway! I think this may be the perfect formula for our little one!
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It gave my daughter major constipation I changed my daughter from Gerber Gentle Ease to Similac Alimentum because my daughter has an issue with food allergies like whey and milk based so I figured I would try this. Big mistake because it gave her major constipation to the point where it made her scream in pain. She was miserable for hours. It took me feeding her prunes from a baby food jar to loosen her stools a little bit and me to physically help her pass the stool for her to feel better. I'm going to finish this formula up but then I'm going to have to switch her on to a different formula. Similac Alimentum does not do what it says it's going to do. She also spit up the formula once her body started getting used to it within 12 hours. I can not bear to see my daughter in such pain so I do not suggest this formula for any parent to give to their child.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Total change in one day! Weve tried so many similac products and was struggling with her constipation, turns out she has a slight milk allergy. So the dr put her on this and within a day I noticed a total 360, she doesnt spit up, shes not gassy or fussy, although it took a but for her to eat it because you can tell she doesnt like the taste. It is rather pricey. But weve been buying the giant cans of the others so it was like buying the same but I wish this one came in a giant can as well. Rather than buying 2 every pay I'll have to buy 3 or 4 of these cans.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I was really worried that she was not going to tolerate this formula and that it's was going to smell horrible because of some of the reviews on it. But after she could not tolerate anything else and couldn't handle breast milk I had no choice because she was so sick. She LOVES it and her body handles it wonderfully and to me it does not smell unless she burpes lol. To me it smells like the puppy formula or kitten formula I used to feed rescues. I love this stuff yes it's is expensive but way worth it!!
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only formula that has worked for our little one This is the 6th formula we have had to try with our 5 month old, and so far it is working great! She has had issues with spitting up, so we thought after a couple formulas we had it figured out, only to find out that that particular formula caused constipation. We have always been brand loyal to Similac and they did not disappoint this time either. Although this formula does smell horribly and it took a few days for my daughter to fully "enjoy" the taste, it has worked miracles, it's easy to mix, not frothy like some of the others either. I did have to take away one star though because I wish the can size/price were comparabe to the other Similac Pro-series formulas.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please remove CORN from the recipe! My dear sweet little baby can only drink the alimentum ready to feed. She would be able to drink the powdered version IF it did not contain corn maltodextrin. She can not tolerate corn derivatives (including the maltodextrin in this formula). You would save moms money and headache if you'd remove corn from your powdered version of this formula! Babies who are sensitive to dairy often have multiple allergies when they are little - removing corn (a major allergen for some!) makes sense, so please consider doing it!
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for us My baby was on similac pro-sensitive and would drink 4-5 oz at each feeding. She was gassy though, so much that everyone in my family asked me if I was going to change formula. So I finally did and tried this one. The smell is horrible, and my baby totally didn’t like it. She refused to drink it. I would try over and over. :( She would just cry because she was hungry and would not eat it even when hungry. :( It was so expensive and will be going back to the pro-sensitive for now. I rather her eat and be gassy than not eat.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy baby Our newborn from day one was very fussy and would scream nonstop for up to 7 hours a day was not pooping and spitting up so much so we switched from regular to the sensitive with no results 2 weeks ago his Dr recommended this formula within the day I finally had a happy baby he stopped screaming he now poops regularly and I can now enjoy my baby the smell is definitly nasty but I rather deal with the smell then hear my baby scream all day it's worth paying the higher price for
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need a small bottle for travelling This milk has been helpful for my son. My biggest complaint is that the ready to feed formula should also be available in small bottles. Every time I have to take my son to the doctor I have to throw the entire bottle out because there is not place to refrigerate it. Please make small bottles for ready to feed.
Date published: 2018-12-28
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_854
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
amazonpixel
close-btn