Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
Find out how Similac® can help >

Similac

Similac® Alimentum®

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

see a difference

Similac Alimentum starts reducing excessive crying due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity, in most infants, within 24 hours.

Similac Alimentum is a trusted, easy-to-digest, and nutritionally complete infant formula for infants with food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity. Its formula is lactose-free and contains DHA and ARA, special nutrients found in breast milk that are important to help support brain and eye development.

And now it’s available at your favorite retailer in a 19.8-oz VALUE SIZE, giving you over 60% more product. The VALUE SIZE makes 9 more 6-fl-oz bottles.§

Learn more about protein sensitivity and colic-related crying.

To purchase Similac Alimentum hypoallergenic formula, click on the Buy Now button above for retailers near you.

* Nielsen Data, January 2018.
Based on a clinical study with Similac Alimentum Ready to Feed without DHA and ARA in a small group of infants experiencing colic symptoms due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity. Data on File, Study AC84, August 2004. Abbott Nutrition. Columbus, Ohio.
63.6% more product as compared to 12.1-oz powder.
§ As compared to Alimentum 12.1-oz powder.

Similac Alimentum Hypoallergenic formula
allergy-image

Available In:

1.24-lb Powder

12.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

Nutrition Information

12.1-oz Powder

Serving size: 100 Cal (5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    148

  • Protein Equivalent, g:

    2.75

  • Fat, g:

    5.54

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.2

  • Water, g:

    133

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    800

  • Potential Renal Solute Load, mOsm:

    25.3

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac Alimentum
Similac logo

Similac Alimentum Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Premade Formula We have never had any issues with this formula, until we used the premade formula. My daughter has finally stopped projectile vomiting after 4 hours. She was unable to hold anything down after drinking a 6oz bottle and we rushed her to the ER after not finding any solution. As new parents we thought the premade would help us, but it has only caused me to loose my faith in the premade product line after the doctor told us to rehydrate her and try the powder we have not had any further issues. please I am very eager to hear the companies response to such a traumatizing incident. To be a Parent and watch your child scream in fear and pain because of something that you gave them is a moment I will never forget.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changer This formula was a life saver! Our son is 3 months old and hasn’t been able to tolerate ANYTHING major improvement in just 2 bottles
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well tolerated - RTF is the way to go! We had to start supplementing with formula at 2months, when our baby wasn’t gaining enough weight. The RTF has been a very easy addition to our feeding routine. She has tolerated it well, with no issues other than a tiny bit more gas. Other than that, she is happy and back to gaining weight! We did not try the powder version, as our pediatrician and lactation consultant said it smells terrible and doesn’t seem as well tolerated as the RTF. Happy we found what worked for us on the first try - I would recommend it if you need a supplementation to your breastfeeding routine, or just an easily tolerated formula.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Saved our Night My husband and I are foster parents. Our newest little one came to us at 6 days old. We tried 3 or 4 formulas but he remained in distress. He would scream all day and all night. Swaddling did not help. Swinging did not work. White noise wasn't an option. The 5's of soothing was ridiculous. We came across a mommy blog that raved about this milk. We jumped on the opportunity to try it. We went to maybe 3 stores before finding it at CVS; 2 RTF's were left in a locked case. We bought both bottles. We didn't hesitate on giving it to him, we just dived right in on his next feeding. When I tell you this milk is MAGIC and it saved our Night, I mean it. The price is steep, but it's worth it for the baby to get some relief.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great but expensive My little man had to switch formula 3 times. This one being his 3rd. He had an extremely sensitive stomach and he would get extremely gassy and constipated for a week at a time. We switched to this per recommendation of his pediatrician and he does great! It smells terrible and it’s really expensive for how much comes in a can, but if it helps him then I will continue to buy it despite the price.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Has caused horrible constipation Had to switch to this due to a milk protein allergy my daughter is having. The powder smells horrible and she will not eat. She will take the ready to feed but has caused horrible constipation. Trying to figure out the best route with the doctor now.
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, smelly, pricy This is great except it smells HORRIBLE. But that set a slide it works! I already have it hard enough with my little one having food allergies and severe eczema but on top of that having to be on special formula makes it hard especially with how EXPENSIVE everything is. You would think children with these issues would get a little break but no you actually have to spend more money and it’s a shame, the price for this stuff is outrageous.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My baby is pooping less. We changed our 2 weeks old to similac alimentun, it help with the fuzziness and tommy issue but know baby is having problems pooping! she only poos once every 36 hours.
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the RTF I've been on a hunt for the right milk for my little man because I found out 1 month ago that he has an allergy to cows Milk, he is 5 months now and it has not been a pleasant one journey until I discovered alimentum. We've went from Enfamil (4 different ones) to Similac (6 different ones including alimentum) it has been a very costly journey for me with this also because he too cannot tolerate the powder form and it STINKS and tastes awful (i taste all of what i feed to my children (he started throwing up all over again and not having regular bowels as to with the RTF he does. So I'm stuck with buying RTF which he downs one bottle a day bummer!
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good My son has been unable to keep anything down since he was two weeks old. He will projectile after every meal and is immediately hungry again. This formula has slowed the projectile vomiting down a little, but now he keeps one or two different feedings down.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best formula besides elecare Both my oldest daughter was one elecare for protein deficiency and my son can't have soy or dairy and both products are amazing my son hasn't spit up or had a hard time with gas and pooping with this formula highly recommend this product
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from RTF is great, The powder is awful. I gave you a 3 because the RTF is awesome. The powder is awful. I really wish your company would rename the alimentum RTF or powder to something different. They are so different they shouldn't be called the same name. I bought the RTF for my son as a trial and he did great on it. I bought a can of the powder thinking it was the same stuff and whoa what a mistake that was. The first thing one notices is the difference in smell between the powder and the RTF. The powder is awful whereas the RTF is tolerable. The second thing we noticed was that he was a completely different baby. He was spitting up all over, he was in terrible pain from the gas, and he went from sleeping 6 hours a night back to 3.5 hours. I checked out the ingredients on the tub and they're completely different. It looks like the RTF is sweetened with sugar whereas the powder is sweetened with corn maltodextrin. We went back to the RTF and he's back to sleeping 6 hours a night. The spit-ups have lessened considerably, he's able to get his gas out again, and he's just an all around different baby. I hate how expensive the stuff is but it's the only thing that he can tolerate.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 8oz bottle please Abbott please start providing Alimentum in 8oz bottles just like Similac Advance and Similac Sensitive. This is such a popular item for those of us with children who have issues with dairy and gastrointestinal issues. It would be so much easier than the 8 ounce cans and the 32 ounce bottles. Please consider making our lives easier as you have for your clients who use milk based formulas. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great but expensive! My 5 month old baby girl has had many feeding issues since birth, including a milk protein allergy so my pediatrician recommended Alimentum and provided us with a number of ready to feed liquid samples. The great, and most important, news is the liquid ready to feed works and she seems to really like it! Very little gas or indigestion issues, regular bowels, overall success! The bad news is, she will not eat the powdered version, I am not sure what the difference is, but there must be a taste difference? Consequently, feeding her Alimentum is costing me a fortune, and i also end up wasting a lot because it’s only good for an hour, and hard to find on the go 2 oz bottles also.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduces gas and crying My son has struggled with spit up and gas since we began formula supplement. This is the only formula he could tolerate. Thank you so much Similac!!!
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped for her intolerance I breastfeed my baby until she was almost 7 weeks but she was extremely fussy, gassy, and cried nonstop. I knew she probably had an intolerance and went to the pediatrician. She confirmed my concerns and suggested alimentum. After two days I saw a huge improvement: sleeping better at night, passing gas comfortably, and only crying when she is hungry. She takes the ready to feed because she seemed to have an issue w the powder. The only issue is the cost!!! My goodness she is 2 months and can down a quart in one day. It def adds up.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Formula Our girl gets this formula for supplementation due to dairy allergy. She loves it. I only wish it still came in the 2 ounce bottles like the light blue similac does.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Foul smell my daughter who is breastfeeding is trying different formulas for her 5 month old. So far none of your brands are working. The baby has vomited twice and today tried highly recommended Alumentum. He just turned his head and cried after one sip, the smell is over powering. It made me even gag! How can u make such a vile expensive formula and expect babies to drink it, very disappointed !!
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Diarrhea:( My son was born 2 months early, with an atresia. After 4 weeks he was finally able to eat. He was put on Neosure, which caused too much stool...explosive soft stool!! His pediatrician said it looks like he’s not digesting it properly, so she put him on Alimentum. Alimentum has given him a horrible case of diarrhea and he’s VERY gassy!!! So two different Similac formulas, both with horrible results for my poor little guys bottom :(
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My baby didn’t do well with this one At the beginning I was using Similac for Supplementation, but when I couldn’t breastfeed anymore I wanted to change to a regular formula. On my baby’s 3nd Mitch checkup, he had really bad dry skin, too dry to be normal. Dr gave me alimentum, so I gave it to my baby and he didn’t do well. He was super gassy, diarrhea, he got very fussy, which is not normal for him, he also stopped sleeping through the night, he was sleeping 6hrs at night. I stopped using it and switched to similac advance, he’s seemed to be doing fine, but now he only poops one a day, sometimes none, and it’s usually diarrhea like, still gassy, but not as bad as with alimentum. I want to try sensitive to see if It’s better for my baby.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results but pricey What a difference this formula made. I have a happy Baby again. I was breastfeeding and supplementing, started out with blue simulac in hospital but my baby was really fussy. The pediatrician told us to switch to total comfort, it helped some but made him very gassy and constipayed. Switched to powdered alimentim and it really helped but we did get 100% better until we switched to the ready to feed. The problem is that it’s so expensive !! I wish there was other options!
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Price! My daughter was told by her pediatrician to put her baby on this formula due to allergies. I think it is utterly ridiculous for them to charge the price they do for this! My daughter is a young single mom that still lives at home with me, which means I get the pleasure of having to provide this expensive formula for my grandbaby. It's just a shame that with all the things I could have said about this product, I felt the need to complain about the price! Does this company realize how they are putting families in harder times that they need to be in!?!? Over $40 for a 19 oz can, really!?! IF my grandbaby didn't need this, I sure as Heck won't give similac any more than I absolutely have too!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped with digestive problems Our 2 week old baby was having trouble with constipation, gassiness and distended abdomen for almost a week. His pediatrician switched him from Similac Pro-Advance to Total Comfort (when he started to have tummy troubles) to Alimentum. HIs stomach was so distended he had to go in for an X-ray to rule out an obstruction, but thankfully all it showed was air in his intestines. We switched him to Alimentum the day we took him in for his Xray. We followed up with his pediatrician the next day, and his stomach was SO MUCH softer and he was finally pooping! He has been on Alimentum ever since and he just turned 1 month a few days ago. It is pretty pricey, but it is definitely worth my baby's health and comfort! Although he will take the powder form of Alimentum, we noticed he takes the ready to feed formula a lot better without hardly any fussiness. One 32 oz bottle lasts us 24 hours, so it definitely adds up! I would definitely recommend this product if your baby is having any digestive issues!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well but packaging can be improved Alimentum was recommended to be used until my baby is one year old due to being milk protein intolerant. It works well and he hasn't had any issues so far. The only downsides are the 8oz cans and the price. I would really like to see Abbott provide Similac Alimentum in the 8oz bottles just as they do with Similac Advance and Similac Sensitive. It would be easier to store or to serve right away.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cost Cost is taking a toll make too much to get Wic hardly enough to afford what my baby needs does it really cost this much to produce but I'll do anything for the comfort of my children
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works, but at a cost! My infant had a lot of gas and after cycling a few different formula types and brands, this was the first one that allowed him to have relief. It's definitely more expensive than the other ones out there but since this is the only one that has worked, it's gonna be what is has to be.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely good for babies with sensitive tummies My baby boy had his milk changed twice at 6 weeks. The. Third time the doctor told us to switch to alimentum, after drinking alimentum for a couple of days I noticed the difference. However, this milk is extremely expensive and is breaking my pockets. My little one does about a can a week. Smh
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We have used this product since our baby started having tummy issues and was losing weight, our pediatrician recommended starting her on Alimentum and it only took a day for us to see a huge difference. Our baby is much happier and hardly any spit up. Will recommend to moms having trouble finding a good formula for their babies. The Alimentum is a little expensive but worth every penny.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RTF WAY better than powder RTF changed my little boys feeding times from spitting up and vomiting to peacefully sleeping afterwards. The powder however not only smells terrible, but after he refused it several times over several days I tasted it and it also tasted nothing like the RTF. When he finally was so tired he took a bottle of it, he immediately vomited it up afterwards. Very distressing since it’s supposed to be the same thing. We will stick with the RTF however WIC does not cover it so the financial burden is great. It’s worth it for my baby to feel better. Not sure what’s wrong with the powder version but I don’t recommend giving it to your little ones.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my baby girl My baby girl was born early by almost a month and they had her on Similac pro sensitive it hurt her belly and then they switched to gerber which was terrible. She would scream out in pain with her belly and my doctor suggested that we try Similac alimentum. So the gave about three sample cans. It helped her big time. No more fussy baby no spit up her acid is reduced big time.. if only it wasn't super expensive. So whats the difference between expert care alimentum and just regular can of alimentum the scoops has changed?
Date published: 2018-01-07
  • y_2018, m_10, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_800
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 157ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
disaster-close

If you or someone you know has been affected, find out how Similac® can help.

LEARN MORE