Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
Find out how Similac® can help >

Similac

Similac® Alimentum®

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

see a difference

Similac Alimentum starts reducing excessive crying due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity, in most infants, within 24 hours.

Similac Alimentum is a trusted, easy-to-digest, and nutritionally complete infant formula for infants with food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity. Its formula is lactose-free and contains DHA and ARA, special nutrients found in breast milk that are important to help support brain and eye development.

And now it’s available at your favorite retailer in a 19.8-oz VALUE SIZE, giving you over 60% more product. The VALUE SIZE makes 9 more 6-fl-oz bottles.§

Learn more about protein sensitivity and colic-related crying.

To purchase Similac Alimentum hypoallergenic formula, click on the Buy Now button above for retailers near you.

* Nielsen Data, January 2018.
Based on a clinical study with Similac Alimentum Ready to Feed without DHA and ARA in a small group of infants experiencing colic symptoms due to cow’s milk protein sensitivity. Data on File, Study AC84, August 2004. Abbott Nutrition. Columbus, Ohio.
63.6% more product as compared to 12.1-oz powder.
§ As compared to Alimentum 12.1-oz powder.

Similac Alimentum Hypoallergenic formula
allergy-image

Available In:

1.24-lb Powder

12.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

For food allergies and colic due to protein sensitivity

Nutrition Information

12.1-oz Powder

Serving size: 100 Cal (5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    148

  • Protein Equivalent, g:

    2.75

  • Fat, g:

    5.54

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.2

  • Water, g:

    133

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    800

  • Potential Renal Solute Load, mOsm:

    25.3

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac Alimentum
Similac logo

Similac Alimentum Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from RTF works much better My LO had to be put on alimentum after a month of breast feeding due to cows milk allergy. We were doing fine for about a month, but then he started screaming, cramping, bringing his legs to his tummy and waking up screaming. I looked at the ingredients in the ready to feed, and it is the ONLY ready to feed that doesn't have corn in it, so I tried that. Literally a whole new baby within 2 days. Only downfall is it's going to cost about 350 dollars a month to feed him which is insane.. I just wish similac could make it more affordable..
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked for us My child has terrible reflux-would scream with each bottle and for an hour afterwards. He would also spit up several times after each feeding. We had an upper GI done and the pediatrician suggested we switch to this formula along with medication to help. The formula has definitely helped decrease irritability and spitting up, but it is very expensive and difficult for us to afford. We may have to look at another option, but I'm reluctant due to the fact it is helping so much. Are there any programs to help with cost?
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, but expensive We have tried several different formulas to help our little girl with her milk sensitivities. The only one we have finally got to work is the Alimentum RTF. She spits up less and doesn't scream after feedings. The only thing I HATE is the price! Over $10 a day for one bottle is really expensive and is putting a hardship on us, but I don't know a cheaper option for her that will work. If only there were more coupons or something to help! I don't understand why formula for a baby has to be so expensive.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver I’m so thankful for this formula,my baby is colic and super gassy. I tried different kinds of formula and bottles no one works for my lil one,only this!
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pediatrician prescribed and baby tummy approved Our pediatrician prescribed Similac Alimentum for our baby having reflux and severe gas troubles with traditional full cows milk formulas. The sample he gave us has worked great to relieve our little one’s digestive pain. I’m concerned about being able to keep her on it continuously as it is quite expensive compared to basic formulas. But we are very happy to have a healthy and happy baby.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product My baby was born early and therefore spent some time in the nicu. Unfortunately I was unable to breastfeed. She also has a bad case of acid reflux. We tried enfamil and one other similac product before our doctor recommended this product. After starting this formula she showed great improvement. She was fed the RTF 2oz bottles while at the hospital when we got home we decided to try to the powder. She hated it, caused more acid reflux, gas, constipation. She could barely tolerate 1 oz at a feeding without arching her back and crying. Not sure why she showed such a difference between the ready feed and powder. But since switching back to the ready feed we have a happy, healthy, and growing baby! The only down fall is the price. Literally the MOST expensive formula you can buy out of any brand or type on the market. But a happy and healthy baby is priceless.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Colic baby I was unable to breastfeed due to my lo being tongue tied. She was started on similac advatage in the hospital which gave her horrible diahrea and made her gassy and fussy. We then switched to simicalc pro sensative which still made out lo gassy and fussy but made her constipated. The pediattician then told us to try similac alimentum. We started on the powder form and it really helped with her bowel movements and her being fussy but caused her to spit up waterfalls. Our pediatrcian tlld us to add rice cereal 1tsp per oz to help. Which it did but made her constipated again. We then heard about the similac alemitum rtf was thicker and taste better. So far she seems to agree with it better. She seems more cotent after feedings. Only downside is the price, but for her to be healtly its all worth it.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product My daughter had a hard time switching to formula when I couldn't breast feed anymore! We started her on enfamil Newborn and she constantly was gassy, fussy and had diarrhea. We then switched her to enfamil gentleease and that was even worse. We couldn't get her to eat it and when she would she would scream and cry from her stomach hurting. We then switched her to enfamil prosoybee...she was on that for a month and seemed to be doing great. By the time the 4th week came around she started projectile vomiting, she became constipated and colic. She would cry for hours and nothing we did would calm her down. Finally our pediatrician recoomened Similac Alimentum. We started with the powder version and she hated it. She refused to eat it. The doctor then said to try the ready to feed and see if she will eat it. So we did and she loved it!! I couldn't understand why she loved the ready to feed so much and not the powder so I decided to try it myself. And omg is there a difference! The powder version tasted so terrible I couldn't get the flavor out of my mouth fast enough. The ready to feed was actually drinkable...it tasted much sweater! They even have different smells. We now use the ready to feed version and she is doing wonderful on it. Her bowel movements are perfect, she sleeps 5 to 6 hours straight at night, she is not as gassy and she eats 4oz every 3-4 hours and she just turned 3 months old today! The only down fall is that it is so expensive. We are averaging $400 a month on formula now. But to have our baby girl healthy, full and smiling it is so worth it. I highly recommend this formula.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My baby is so much happier This formula has helped my baby so much. Her belly isn’t bothering her anymore and her face isn’t broken out like it was on other formula. I def will recommend this product to others.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is there a difference between powder and rtf? I love Alimentum powder my son has been drinking it since he was 3 months old... The only problem I have now is that I tried the ready to feed and he didn't tolerate it well he threw up and had tummy troubles. He would just cry and fuss. So I wonder why he tolerates powder so well but not the ready to feedI love Alimentum powder my son has been drinking it since he was 3 months old... The only problem I have now is that I tried the ready to feed and he didn't tolerate it well he threw up and had tummy troubles I would just cry and fuss. So I wonder why he tolerates powder so well but not the ready to feed is there a difference? Is there something different in them I mean they're labeled the same so they should have the same ingredients so why does my child tolerate one more than the other? Not to mention I bought 2 cases and now I'm stuck out of that money because my son can't drink it we were back on Powder ASAP is there a difference is there something different in them I mean they're labeled the same so they should have the same ingredients so why does my child tolerate one more than the other? Not to mention I bought 2 cases and now I'm stuck out of that money because my son can't drink it we were back on Powder ASAP
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powder vs Ready To Feed... Tried several versions of Similac before landing on Alimentum which was recommended by my pediatrician. We had several issues with vomiting, colic, rash, gas & constipation... All went away when we tried Alimentum Ready To Feed. However when we started daycare my baby began to loose weight & was not eating like he would eat when at home. The only change was ... 1) Daycare and 2) the Powder version of Alimentum. When I switched the daycare from the powder Alimentum to the Ready To Feed he began to eat normally again. Not sure if there is a difference in formulation, taste or texture but it's something my baby definatly reacted to. Easy solve but not a fan of how expensive it is.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it My son loves it , his tummy is full and comfy no problem at all thanks to this formula. He struggled with all the other formulas, finally the pediatrician recommended this formula and its fantastic. No more puking or bloody stools. Only downfall is how expensive it is. My son goes through a 19.8 oz can in 3 days. Thank you Similac!
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing that worked ! Granddaughter is 4 months old & has tried breast milk & at least 6 different formulas. For 3 Months, she has been crying, fussy & in tears ALL DAY LONG! finally, the Dr said to try this one......within 1 day, a miracle has happened! Baby is very happy! a complete turnover. We wish this would have been recommended FIRST to avoid all the unnecessary formula purchases and pain to the baby. This baby is now a Happy, fun, content baby ! Please, Please make larger cans ! Thank you. Grandma!
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alimentum is the best I love the new bigger can size. I do wish I could get more coupons to help with the savings. And I wish the rewards was for a free can of Alimentum since that is what I’m buying. But regardless, I have to buy this formula because it works wonders on my baby’s tummy. Thanks for making a great product.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best milk I fed my little one My baby has trouble with colic gas pains and I tried different brands my babys doctor recommended nothing worked, until she finally gave me to try this one and I can finally be at peace feeding her this knowing that she won’t have any pains at all! :)
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rtf is the bomb ! My baby has milk/soy intolerance (has blood in stool ) it's medical necessary For are baby to be on this type of formula ! The ready to feed is the only type my baby can handle Plus I have tasted it and it's a lot better tasting than the powers it's sweeter smells better too .. she was previously on the enfamil Version and I think the probiotics in it gave her lots of gas and fussiness... I just wish it was cheaper she's only drinking 4 ounces and going through 1 quart a day around 11$ it adds up ! Hopefully I can get her to take the power later on to save money !! I would love to start seeing coupons in my mail box to help out .. over all I like this product ! Baby is feeling better ..
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! My 4th baby is 11 weeks old. We started supplementing with milk based formula when he wasn't gaining weight fast enough. He was super gassy and extremely fussy. We tried sensitive formula as well as soy and nothing seemed to work. I eliminated milk, soy, wheat, and dairy from my diet....3 weeks later there was no change. While I would have liked to continue breastfeeding, as I had done with my other children, I am so thankful that this product exists. My son is now happy, comfortable, and only wakes up once a night. I did have to use ready to feed. The powder was not well tolerated.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit My son has been on this formula since he was 1 month old. My partner is a vegan and wanted a formula that was not milk based. He researched for days after our little guy didn't have a BM for almost 36hrs due to being on another formula. Happy to say everyone approves. I have recommended this formula to several friends.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for milk protein allergy We have had good luck with this. My only issue is that he cannot have the powdered version. It really irritates his stomach. I guess the difference is more soy and corn. I wish the ready to feed was cheaper because we go through 1 bottle of it a day
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Baby is So Happy! Just started him on this formula less than 48 hours ago & he is so content, happy always laughing and smiling. He is only 2 months and we have had to switch his formula a lot. Now, the formula does stink lol but I can deal with it since it makes him less fussy and in pain. It also helps with his acid reflux. It's expensive but the coupons help a lot. Thank you Similac!
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product This product has been the best thing for us my baby which is 2 months would not sleep at night every feeding used to be a nightmare during and it got worse after he was colicky specially at the middle of the night his crying used to wake everyone up during the night he was restless and also would always had diarrhea his 1st month was a total nightmare but thankfully his doctor suggested to us to switch formula to the hypoallergenic we where using the similac pro advance before. But as soon as we made the switch it was a total change on my baby I was able to see him slept quietly and peaceful after 4 weeks of pain and discomfort very happy with the product a little expensive but worth every penny for the well been of my baby.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Savor!! First let me start off by saying I NEVER WRITE REVIEWS ON ANYTHING! This was a life changing for my little one and for me! His pediatrician had walked in on us at his apt and he was crying high pitch didn't even finish his bottle. He had told us that my son was colicky gave me enfamil the sensitive kind. It didn't work. I went to similac the orange container it also didn't work. I was going crazy trying to find something ..ANYTHING! I wouldn't sleep at night at all!!!!! I seen the reviews for this item and emailed the company for free samples, they were very nice enough to send me 2 cans. I tried this formula starting a day in the morning, can I tell you we all notice the big difference!!! I can now go out with my son. He is no longer in pain and no longer needs mylicon!! Till this day my son is on this formula. It is a stinky formula but he loves it and is ok with it and as long as he's happy I Am Happy!! If you are a mom like I was, looking online to help your colicky baby. I highly suggest/Recommend you try this formula !!
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the right formula After a lot of gas drops, gripe water, three different formulas, we finally found the right formula for our son. He was almost instantly happier! If your child has any discomfort due to gas, spitting up, constipation, talk to your pediatrician and see if this is the right formula for them. It was for ours and I appreciate Similac making one for us. It is expensive, but after coupons, I can't complain too much. Especially if it helps make our son happier!
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I have used this formula for 2 of my 3 kids and it worked great.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So happy it helped my son My son is 6 weeks and has been on formula since 2 weeks old. We started with a sensitive and gentle formula that made him so uncomfortable with gas pain, so we decided to give soy formula a try. It seemed to help a little with the discomfort but he was still constipated and had trouble going to the bathroom. After speaking with the pediatrician we were told to try the Alimentum formula. He is now going to the bathroom regularly and much more comfortable. I am so happy that the formula has brought him relief but I am so disappointed that not only is the formula much more expensive than all the rest on the market. But also that the biggest can is not that big at all. Of course my son's comfort and health are most important and I will keep hm on this formula. I just wish the price was better or you could buy in bulk to save money.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i have a new baby because of this formula!! my daughter was gassy, fussy and even colic. and sine i have been using this product. she is happy and never fussy and guess what she isnt colic!!!! im so happy that she is happy now.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ready to feed! I'm giving this 5 stars because I love the ready to feed because it's the only corn-free formula available on the market! But I really wish they would change the name of the ready to feed because it is not the same as the powder! Which makes it very difficult to get approved by Insurance because they think there is a powder version available, even though they are NOT the same!
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just love this product This formula has helped my new born in so many ways. It is a true blessing to have something that judge asy the pain and makes my wonderful baby happy and not in pain and cranky anymore thank you so much for making such great baby formula
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pooping problems my baby was having troubles going to the bathroom and surprisingly this helped him. He no longer struggles to go.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is AMAZING!!! My child is was suffering from a milk allergy and it took us time to figure out what was wrong with him. Once we realized it was milk allergy and switched it took four hours to start to improve. We are at 24 hours and he is doing amazing!! I got a brand new baby!!!! I recommend this product to EVERYONE!!!
Date published: 2017-10-15
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_800
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
disaster-close

If you or someone you know has been affected, find out how Similac® can help.

LEARN MORE