Similac

Similac® NeoSure®

Promotes catch-up growth during your premature baby’s first 12 months

 

Your premature baby didn’t get her full 9 months in the womb, so her body is working hard to catch up.

Help support her development in the first full year by feeding her Similac NeoSure, a nutrient-enriched* formula for babies who were born prematurely.

 

Supports excellent growth during baby’s first year.1

  • Increased protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula
  • Extra calories for growth
  • Calcium and phosphorus for baby’s growing bones

Supports better gains in weight, length, and head circumference for premature babies when compared to term infant formula.1 Has OptiGRO to support your baby's brain and eye development.

Learn more about the nutritional needs of your preemie.

Get tips for keeping your baby’s immune system strong.

Learn why catch-up growth is important.

* Increased protein, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula.
Reference: 1. Carver JD, et al. Pediatrics. 2001;107:638-689.

Similac NeoSure 13.1 oz formula with Iron for preemies

Available In:

13.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

2-fl-oz Ready to Feed

For babies who were born prematurely

Nutrition Information

Powder / 13.1 oz

Serving size: 100 Cal (4.5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    134

  • Protein, g:

    2.8

  • Fat, g:

    5.5

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.1

  • Water, g:

    120

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    750

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac NeoSure
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac NeoSure Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great formula but VERY expensive! My twin grandbabies have been on this formula since their premature birth and will continue for another 2 months minimum. They have gained a good bit of weight and we couldn't be happier. Both have dealt with some gas and constipation from this formula. However, not only is Neosure difficult to find in stores it is also VERY expensive especially when purchasing for twins. Like many other preemies, the Twins spent time in the NICU which created unbelievable medical bills. It would be nice if Similac would take into consideration Neosure is primarily for preemies and parents have already been hit with lots of expenses. The parents have made the sacrifices to continue to purchase this formula for the Twins because that is what is best.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and expensive My baby born 36 week weight 4lb 9oz, in three months he weight 12lbs by now. When he was in the NICU , they bottle feed him on Similac Pro-Advance which carry 19 calories so his doctor prescribe the neosure which carry 22 calories. His doctor he going to fatten my baby up so sudden say and done. Only thing is purchasing the formula even through I get assistance but they give so little plus breastfeed 50% of the time. In the first 2 months my baby was going through gassy, constipation using the neosure product. I end up using the baby purified water with the formula with proper sterile bottle; no more constipation but a lot of passing gas.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This formula really help my premature baby Like a lot of parents experience, while my baby was in the NICU he did great with neosure formula but once I got hope and started preparing the powder formula my baby started being gassy, fussy and even seem contipated even when I was still breastfeeding 75% of the time. I began looking online to see if others had the same problem. I realized that I was using the wrong water. The formula already has minerals and by using water specific for babies that already had minerals it was too much for my baby. I use regular distilled water and my baby is doing great. He is now on only formula and he is no longer gassy or constipated. He is 5 months now. Believe me I wanted to switch the formula plenty of times because my baby was in so much pain but now I’m glad I did. Please give it a try, change the water your using it might make a huge difference.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doing well My granddaughter was not premature but very tiny due to placental issues. She has done very well on this product. It is difficult to find. The price seems about the he same as other formulas. There are two stores in my town that it is significantly less expensive. It would be nice to be able to have a larger can! Also my daughter signed up for this site but has never received a coupon of any kind. Why are you taking people’s information?
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average product For the price and lack of availability, I am hoping for the best for my beloved premie. Unfortunately I agree with many that it causes excessive gas & discomfort & makes my baby unhappy. He has been through so much already at the nicu and I was hoping things would get better. I am strongly thinking of switching to a different formula which is a shame since my first one relied heavily on Similac. We are loyal customers but not a fan of neosure!
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great formula for preemies I just recently had twin boys at 35 weeks. Since they were preemie they recommended Neosure so we have been on it for the past 4 weeks. We have had several appointments with our pediatrician for weight checks and finally today we made progress... Our pediatrician said he would give us samples if he had some but their current rep doesn’t come and provide many samples. We are happy with the product and don’t want to switch to Enfamil because we like Similac products but with two baby’s eating every 3 hours it’s hard to pay $20 for a tiny can every 2-3 days... I’m hoping to find a solution so my boys can keep enjoying their formula and get those calories!!! We love Similac!
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Expensive My baby was born at 34 weeks and the NICU put her on Neosure and her pediatrician wants to keep her on it for a while to gain weight. Im now a stay at home mom and i wish there was an option for assistance paying for the formula, we go through about 6 cans a month.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for premies but really expensive Our NICU doctors suggested that we continue on the same brand "neosure" once the babies are discharged. Though the babies are gaining weight our boy has gas issues. Also this product is really expensive. I am a stay at home mom. With just one income we seriously wonder how long can we afford this. Product definitely works for premies to gain weight. I really recommend.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive My grandson was born at 29 weeks, momma had preeclampsia. She tried nursing, didn't work, baby was put on Neosure. This stuff is very expensive and does seem to cause gas. It's hard for the parents to buy this because it is so expensive. I feel like we are all being taken advantage of because of the special needs for our preemies. And yes, I know it has all of the vitamins and nutrients but does it have to cost an arm and a leg? I say shame on you Similac.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product is helpful but at the expense of a gassy uncomfortabe baby My baby was born at 34 weeks weighing 3lbs 11oz. He stayed in NICU 12 days and was immediately put on Neosure 22 for weight gain while also supplementing with breast milk. During the first month our baby was taking Neosure just fine but by month 2 is when we noticed fewer poops, more spit up and extreme gassiness. Although we were advised to give two servings of Neosure daily while also taking breast milk our baby seem to develop an intolerance for Neosure. Our Pediatrician suggested we give baby half and half meaning 1/2 Neosure and 1/2 Pro- Advance. We had least spit ups and he still gained but did not poop often. We just purchased Total Comfort and I am looking forward to seeing some relief for our baby based on all the reviews about Total Comfort.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Few problems Everything was fine until my baby made 2 months I noticed she get extremely constipated after drinking neosure. She cries & fusses .. I asked the doctor what can I do they told me try apple juice, it helps a little but not much . I hate that she have to go through this everyday
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My preemie loves it. My little one was born at 29 weeks, and spent 2 months in the NICU.. due to my lack of production of breast milk, they started weaning her at 7 weeks to neosure from breast milk.. now she is almost 9 months, and going thru about 3 cans a week. I agree the cost definitely adds up, and she stays gassy, but neo sure has definitely kept her weight gain on track. Another thing I battle is actually finding neosure. Everytime I go to buy it, I have to hit 3-5 stores before lucking out. There must be a lot of preemies on neosure out there!
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My preeme baby My baby was born at 35 weeks, spent 2 weeks in the hospital but they weren't giving him this kind but when I saw his pediatrician she recommended this kind of formula and also sent a referral to wic so they would pay for it! Definitely ask if you can be put on wic if using this product, it is very expensive.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NeoSure: Formula for Weight Gain and Gas Production Our premie was born at 29 weeks and 2 days and stayed in the NICU for about 10 weeks. He was sent home on alternate breast milk and Neosure 24 combination. He was fed in quite measured quantities in the NICU, which, BTW, we always thought was less than sufficient for him (but we understand their cautious approach). At home we offered more and he took it happily. We believe that his excellent weight gain in the early weeks at home is due to this product, however, after about 10 weeks at home, his weight gain has reduced pace a little. He likes breastmilk over Neosure for sure, but he doesn't mind Neosure when hungry :) We notice that he can tolerate less volume of Neosure when compared to breastmilk, We also see more frequent spit-ups, and throw-ups with Neosure, both of these may be gas related. We also noticed that he goes less often when on Neosure (we have tried experimenting changing levels of Neosure). We tried some pear juice but that did not help much and was cutting into his calories. We wish there a less gassy version of this product.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So expensive and causes constipation/gas pains My preemie was born at 35 weeks and this is the formula my ped recommended we used at home. I’m not sure how anyone can afford to buy this weekly and then have preemie medical bills ontop of it. Something needs to be made that’s affordable and does the same job for our little ones. Crazy :( Also my baby squirms in pain every time he eats. Along with arching his back and grunting this formula gives him constipation and ALOT of gas. I feel so bad.
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product has been great for my baby but SOOO EXPENSIVE My baby was born at 35 weeks, but stopped growing at about week 31. He was 3lbs 10oz. The NICU sent us home with neosure, and the pediatrician recommended that he stay on it. He is about to rub out again. It's going to break the bank. There should be something out there for premie babies that doesn't break the bank.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but expensive My son was born 5 weeks early to due my having ore-eclampsia. This is the formula that the nicu and his pediatrician are telling me to use, and I want to continue to. It has helped him gain weight and it's easy to make. However, it is one of the more expensive ones and we have a lot of expenses what with me and him being hospitalized for 50 days. I wish it wasn't so pricey. 1-2 cans a week is almost $100 a month- a big expense.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain but causes constipation My preemie was born at 33 weeks and the NICU supplemented with the Neosure. It's done wonders for his growth but has caused so much gas and constipation.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great but tiny can This is a great product but it does cause our baby to be pretty gassy and constipated. I do not really like that it’s in such a tiny can because it’s pretty dang expensive!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Just wish it was a little more affordable. Our little guy was born at 29wks 5days. He spent 3 months in the NICU and was started on Neosure there. He did get a bit gassy when he came home, but nothing some over the counter (pediatrician approved) gas drops, & tummy massages couldn't handle. He only had a couple of doses before his stomach adjusted to the volume, and of course bottle feeding itself, as he had been fed through a feeding tube for the majority of his NICU stay. Weight gain was never a concern with him, and I believe a large part of that was due to this formula, & an abundance of prayer of course! The only downside, and reason I gave it 4 stars, has nothing to do with the quality of this product, but with the cost. Each can is almost $20.00, and now that he's going on 9mo (6mo adjusted) he goes through 2 and a half cans a week. We don't qualify for any sort of financial assistance so on top of our new homes mortgage (purchased just before finding out I was prego), hospital bills, daycare, and life in general, it's getting pretty difficult to keep up with little man's appetite. All in all, I would still whole heartedly recommend this product for preemie babies!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Constipated and Gassy This formula both ready to feed and powder made my 36week premie extremely gassy and constipated of course the NICU was feeding him this and he did fine in the hospital with an IV but once we got home his bowel movements have been maybe once a day if that. I can tell he’s hydrated because he’s peeing a lot and it’s a light in color. But he has been extremely unconfortable since being home with how gassy and consitpated he has been. With being a new single mother it has been very tough for me to comfort him when he has his rough days. We will be consulting with his pediatrician about another formula that will be better for him. Originally he was started on Similac because that’s what WIC here prefers, but I’d rather pay more out of pocket and have my baby comfortable without the headache.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for preemies but with some caveats. Our twins were born at 34 weeks so they have been on NeoSure since the get go. It has helped them tremendously. However, now that we are a few months old and still on it, we have noticed the following: - NeoSure makes our preemies constipated with less bowel movements than with breastmilk - NeoSure makes them EXTREMELY gassy which creates fuzzy nights - NeoSure cans are so tiny and our twins go through so many of them that it’s a hassle. These bottles are $20 each and we go through a can every day and a half so imagine the huge expenditure. I wish NeoSure would listen to the consumers and make some fixes to their product. Apart from that, this is great for our preemies.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Our little one has been on this since day one after being 4 weeks early. Just wish it came in bigger containers since even after almost 6 months our dr says our little one won't be stopping it anytime soon. Just wish we would get more coupons since its so expensive for a tiny can.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely pros and cons This formula is great for my 28 weeker, whom is now 6 months. We had slight consiptation (all babies get constipated) but this formula still works great. Super grateful except I really really wish they made a bigger can!!!!! I’ve heard excuses about “because kids don’t drink it for long” but that’s a lie. Since birth it was added calories to my BM but now it’s straight neosure and her pediatrician doesnt see us changing so it’s kind of a pain. And I wish the stores sold it in the box, it’s nice to get some from the NICU follow up and it have the 2$ coupon!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neosure is excellent boon for premature babies i had a premature baby boy who was born a month before the expected date. me and wife were so worried about the health of the baby during the time of the delivery. for our good, the baby was born healthy and was weighing 5.5 pounds which is less to the standard charts that are recommend. we met our pediatrician and raised our concern and she advised to give neosure starting the second monthly checkup. As my wife was also feeding and her milk was not completely enough we decided to do Neosure during morning and afternoon. Initially the baby has gas issues with neosure and we diluted the milk with more water to help him not to run into any digestion problems. We slowly increased from 2.5 FL to 3.5 FL. Sooner from third checkup, we saw excellent result in terms of baby hieght, weight and head circumference. He is also very active. i would highly recommend Neosure to premature babies and it will work wonders if we are cautious of how much dilution your baby should take. it would be nicer here if they allow to share the pics of the baby before and after the neosure consumption so we really see a pictorial difference:) Thanks Samilac for being another mom for my baby .
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gas and discomfort My baby has been on Neosure since he was born at 4 pds. His doctor suggested the ready to feed neosure, which I didn't have any problems with. After a while I switched over to the powder and it seems like he's been extremely gassy and has started spitting up way more frequently. During night time hours he seems to grunt and whine as if he has an upset stomach. I'm currently looking for an alternative because it breaks my heart to see him moan in pain. This is a great product to help your baby gain weight, but I don't recommend keeping your baby on this formula very long.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my preemie twins! My twins were born at 31 weeks with an emergency c-section. My daughter was 3 lbs 15 oz and my son was 4 lbs 7 oz. Both of them were feed breastmilk with the NeoSure 22 cal powder to help them gain weight. My daughter came home after 5 weeks and my son after 7 weeks. My little girl still needs the NeoSure added to her Breastmilk to help her gain weight since she is in the bottom 5% on the growth chart. The formula can be found at all my local stores (Publix, Target, Walmart, BabiesRus), however, it is quite expensive.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but impossible to find My daughter was born at 34 weeks and was in the nicu for 6 days. This formula helped her gain the weight she needed to come to home to us. The hospital had given us a few packages of the ready feed formula to bring home with us. My daughter drinks them with no problems. However, after searching 5 different stores and online, we could NOT find them anywhere! It was very frustrating!
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product has pros and cons for sure I am in the club with everyone else, I have premature twin girls who were admitted into NICU at birth the nurses gave them the premade formula and it helped we even fortified my wifes BM but at home on 100% powder they experience intense gas pains and all night...they have irregular bowl movements now as well...its helping them....and not helping them
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did wonders for my micro preemie!! My daughter is a micro preemie, she was born at just 23 weeks. That plus stress and a lack of skin to skin wreaked havoc on my milk supply. Neosure had to take its place, it did WONDERS!!! Definitely recommend, but does cause constipation.
Date published: 2018-05-29
  • y_2019, m_1, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_363
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
close-btn