Has your family been affected by Hurricane Florence?
Find out how Similac® can help >

Similac

Similac® NeoSure®

Promotes catch-up growth during your premature baby’s first 12 months

 

Your premature baby didn’t get her full 9 months in the womb, so her body is working hard to catch up.

Help support her development in the first full year by feeding her Similac NeoSure, a nutrient-enriched* formula for babies who were born prematurely.

 

Supports excellent growth during baby’s first year.1

  • Increased protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula
  • Extra calories for growth
  • Calcium and phosphorus for baby’s growing bones

Supports better gains in weight, length, and head circumference for premature babies when compared to term infant formula.1 Has OptiGRO to support your baby's brain and eye development.

Learn more about the nutritional needs of your preemie.

Get tips for keeping your baby’s immune system strong.

Learn why catch-up growth is important.

* Increased protein, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula.
Reference: 1. Carver JD, et al. Pediatrics. 2001;107:638-689.

Similac NeoSure 13.1 oz formula with Iron for preemies

Available In:

13.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

2-fl-oz Ready to Feed

For babies who were born prematurely

Nutrition Information

Powder / 13.1 oz

Serving size: 100 Cal (4.5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    134

  • Protein, g:

    2.8

  • Fat, g:

    5.5

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.1

  • Water, g:

    120

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    750

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac NeoSure
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac NeoSure Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for preemies but with some caveats. Our twins were born at 34 weeks so they have been on NeoSure since the get go. It has helped them tremendously. However, now that we are a few months old and still on it, we have noticed the following: - NeoSure makes our preemies constipated with less bowel movements than with breastmilk - NeoSure makes them EXTREMELY gassy which creates fuzzy nights - NeoSure cans are so tiny and our twins go through so many of them that it’s a hassle. These bottles are $20 each and we go through a can every day and a half so imagine the huge expenditure. I wish NeoSure would listen to the consumers and make some fixes to their product. Apart from that, this is great for our preemies.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Our little one has been on this since day one after being 4 weeks early. Just wish it came in bigger containers since even after almost 6 months our dr says our little one won't be stopping it anytime soon. Just wish we would get more coupons since its so expensive for a tiny can.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely pros and cons This formula is great for my 28 weeker, whom is now 6 months. We had slight consiptation (all babies get constipated) but this formula still works great. Super grateful except I really really wish they made a bigger can!!!!! I’ve heard excuses about “because kids don’t drink it for long” but that’s a lie. Since birth it was added calories to my BM but now it’s straight neosure and her pediatrician doesnt see us changing so it’s kind of a pain. And I wish the stores sold it in the box, it’s nice to get some from the NICU follow up and it have the 2$ coupon!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neosure is excellent boon for premature babies i had a premature baby boy who was born a month before the expected date. me and wife were so worried about the health of the baby during the time of the delivery. for our good, the baby was born healthy and was weighing 5.5 pounds which is less to the standard charts that are recommend. we met our pediatrician and raised our concern and she advised to give neosure starting the second monthly checkup. As my wife was also feeding and her milk was not completely enough we decided to do Neosure during morning and afternoon. Initially the baby has gas issues with neosure and we diluted the milk with more water to help him not to run into any digestion problems. We slowly increased from 2.5 FL to 3.5 FL. Sooner from third checkup, we saw excellent result in terms of baby hieght, weight and head circumference. He is also very active. i would highly recommend Neosure to premature babies and it will work wonders if we are cautious of how much dilution your baby should take. it would be nicer here if they allow to share the pics of the baby before and after the neosure consumption so we really see a pictorial difference:) Thanks Samilac for being another mom for my baby .
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gas and discomfort My baby has been on Neosure since he was born at 4 pds. His doctor suggested the ready to feed neosure, which I didn't have any problems with. After a while I switched over to the powder and it seems like he's been extremely gassy and has started spitting up way more frequently. During night time hours he seems to grunt and whine as if he has an upset stomach. I'm currently looking for an alternative because it breaks my heart to see him moan in pain. This is a great product to help your baby gain weight, but I don't recommend keeping your baby on this formula very long.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my preemie twins! My twins were born at 31 weeks with an emergency c-section. My daughter was 3 lbs 15 oz and my son was 4 lbs 7 oz. Both of them were feed breastmilk with the NeoSure 22 cal powder to help them gain weight. My daughter came home after 5 weeks and my son after 7 weeks. My little girl still needs the NeoSure added to her Breastmilk to help her gain weight since she is in the bottom 5% on the growth chart. The formula can be found at all my local stores (Publix, Target, Walmart, BabiesRus), however, it is quite expensive.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but impossible to find My daughter was born at 34 weeks and was in the nicu for 6 days. This formula helped her gain the weight she needed to come to home to us. The hospital had given us a few packages of the ready feed formula to bring home with us. My daughter drinks them with no problems. However, after searching 5 different stores and online, we could NOT find them anywhere! It was very frustrating!
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product has pros and cons for sure I am in the club with everyone else, I have premature twin girls who were admitted into NICU at birth the nurses gave them the premade formula and it helped we even fortified my wifes BM but at home on 100% powder they experience intense gas pains and all night...they have irregular bowl movements now as well...its helping them....and not helping them
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did wonders for my micro preemie!! My daughter is a micro preemie, she was born at just 23 weeks. That plus stress and a lack of skin to skin wreaked havoc on my milk supply. Neosure had to take its place, it did WONDERS!!! Definitely recommend, but does cause constipation.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has pros and cons I've read some of the reviews to see what other moms are experiencing and I am not alone. My daughter was born at 32wks only weighing 3lbs 3ozs and Neosure has helped her grow wonderfully. She's now 8lbs 2ozs an 2 1/2 mos. My milk supply slowed down and I had to make the switch. Unfortunately it gives her terrible gas and she looks like she's in pain to pass a bowel movement. I was at first instructed to recipe a 55ml to 1 scoop ratio and an 80ml to 2 scoops in order for her to gain weight fast. It worked. She had a GI visit 3wks ago and I mentioned the gas constipation and they only suggested changing up to follow the recipe on the can to see if that would help, I have not seen any improvements so far. I thought well maybe she's lactose intolerant but they say she's too young to tell or have....I don't know what to do at this point. She'll be 3mos June 4th.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped Preemie gain weight but terrible ga and constipation Our little one (LO) was 6 weeks early and spent a few weeks in the NICU. Our pediatrician gave us orders to give our LO Neosure but was still not gaining enough weight was sent to GI doctor who then told us to fortify the formula to 27 Cal. Our LO gas gained a decent amount of weight and is back to the standard 22 Cal. We are happy with the weight gain however our LO is still suffering from terrible gas and constipation. Doctors suggested giving apple juice however we see little relief but want us to continue with Neosure because it is the best at this moment. Very happy with this product, just hate seeing my LO in pain with gas and constipation.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked For Us I had extreme skepticism and concerns before using this product with the reviews I read. Fortunately our baby boy who is 6 weeks old has responded well to it with no issues. Our doctor in the hospital said customers only write bad reviews, so here's a good one to give you some hope.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders on my Preemies I had a set of premature Twins (4 lbs 6 oz and 5 lbs 7 oz). Our pediatrician will only recommend NeoSure. There's no other replacement like it on the market. It's put the weight on my babies. And they are both happy and healthy.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for Micro Preemie Weight Gain My son was born at 26 weeks. The NICU supplemented my breast milk with the Neosure 22cal and I continued once home for his first 5 months. At 6 months I transitioned him to complete formula bottles. The Neosure 22cal has been amazing for my son. He has gained weight and length. We have experienced constipation but nothing severe. A little ounce of pear juice helps with it. I highly recommend this product for Micro-Preemies.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constipated Twins I pretty much have the same problem as shelbiwelbi. My twins were born March 3rd at 32 weeks. While they were in the NICU, they were taking the Ready to Feed bottles. When they were discharged 13 days later, we were sent home with a couple days worth of the bottles as well. Both boys were having regular bowel movements a couple times a day but about a day or two after switching to the powder I noticed that they both were constipated. Immediately after they eat, they grunt and strain to produce a bowel movement that sometimes never happens. At some point of the day, if a bowel movement finally happens, they resemble rabbit pellets or a hard ball. (SORRY IF THAT'S TOO MUCH INFO) Like the previous poster stated, this too breaks my heart and makes me want to cry when I see the pain in their faces from the issues they are having. I came to this site to gather some info before switching the formula. My suspicion seemed to be confirmed and I also see that my babies aren't the only ones having this problem.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constipated my daughter severely My daughter was born at 34 (almost 35) weeks and was in the NICU for 2 weeks. While she was there she was given the ready made bottles of this formula to supplement for breast milk. Thankfully I was producing a good amount of milk and for the most part she didn’t even have to drink the formula, but even before she was drinking 100% breast milk she was never constipated, gassy, or fussy. The NICU sent us home with a can of the Neosure and her pediatrician gave us 3 cans as well when she found out my milk supply started to decrease. At about 5 weeks I had to start supplementing with formula and I noticed an immidiate change. My daughter (who normally pooped after every feeding, every 3 hours) was pooping once a day, and she struggled all day because she was constipated. She was in so much pain, it made me want to cry. I did my research on the internet and found out that several other parents complained about the same problem. I’ve also read that this formula helps premie babies gain weight, which is great, but my daughter had no problem gaining weight before the formula. But I’m not sure the payoff is worth the pain. The only good thing I have to say about the formula is it helped my daughter sleep longer.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but causes gas issues My twins are using neosure after being discharged from the nicu. I noticed they were fine while using the formula in the nicu but experienced constipation and bad gas when at home. I'm assuming this is due to the powder versus ready to feed. What is the difference in the formula blend that would make the ready to feed easier to digest?
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product causes severe gas My son was born premature at 33 weeks. During his time in NICU he was given the ready made Neosure. We continued with neosure once we were released but switched to powder due to cost. I'm assuming its the same product, however, my son has severe gas pains after each feeding. He turns red, grunts, pushes, high cries to release a small air from his bottom. I know babies can have normal gas, but this is not normal. Peditrician does not want to change formula yet and waiting to see at his next apt. One positive my son has gained weight BUT at what cost- its painful to see him struggle with gas.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gassy , projectile vomiting and constipation Oh My! Preemie twins born at 34 weeks and Nicu gave Neosure. They have had Neosure till now at 4 months old. Both have gained weight and seem healthy. BUT....they have gone thru many periods of painful gas, straining from constipation, projectile vomiting and overall crankiness and crying after a Neosure feeding. Not happy with the side effects and their doctor won't suggest an alternative.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it - wish you would have the 8oz ready to feed This has worked great for our son and his weight gain. Just wish you had the 8oz ready to feed bottles, or even the pre-measured on the go packets. Those would come in handy for travel and being out an about.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for gaining weight I had my twins @ 25 weeks they been drinking neosure since day one and their weight has picked up tremendously plus their motor and fine motor skills are all up to date and then some i have nothing good but good things to say about neosure the price is even affordable, the only thing i cannot find in the similac website is a recipe to change 22cal/oz into 28cal/oz ????????
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from does the job but pricey and with lots of gas I was told my preemie (born 33 weeks, now 2 months old) needed this formula for the nutritional benefits so I felt I had no real choice but to do it for her health. She is gaining weight beautifully so that's a win, however her gas is REALLY bad with this formula and every feed is crying, cramping gas pains. She's burping ok and I've switched bottles 2 weeks ago to non-colic bottles but there's no help, which only leads me to believe this formula is upsetting her belly. The price is also so so high its a burden on our budget big time.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too costly As good as this stuff may be, for those of us just over the income limits for WIC this product is not very affordable. I have an infant who was born at 24 weeks but even with a few coupons that I find, etc. this formula really socks it to you on the price. I wcan she it was more affordable especially for the size cans it’s available in. Good for preemies, bad on ththe pocketbook.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad gas and hard to find! My son was born at 34 weeks and I have been fortifying my breastmilk with neosure since he was about 1 week old. He has been gaining weight fine but, he is constantly grunting/pushing/arching his back to pass gas and it smells rancid! He has finally gotten to the point where he will eat about 1oz and has trouble eating anymore because he is grunting and pushing so hard to pass gas. He has also been getting increasingly fussy and will vomit his entire feeding shortly after eating. I had a sample can of pro-sensitive and switched him to that this morning. I swear I am feeding a different kid! Way better! Neosure is also really hard to find for that I wish the cans were bigger. Most Walmart’s have it but it is usually sold out. Occasionally I will find it at Target but some don’t even carry it.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gassy, No Bowel Movement for Days This formula is doing me and my little one no good. My baby stains so hard that she turns red. She hasn't had a bowel movement in days. I didn't have a problem with the ready feed bottles we received when we got discharged from the hospital. Luckily I am enrolled in the WIC program.Something needs to be done about this formula from all the other reviews basically saying the same thing.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My daughter is suffering! She was born at 33 weeks and currently she’s 6 weeks old. I don’t like this formula! It makes her fussy, gassy and constipated! Something has got to give! It’s a shame a vast majority of people that have complained have the same complaints. Y’all have to do something these babies are suffering.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's been excellent for our daughter Our daughter has been with neosure since day one and we have had excellent doctors visits. She is developing nicely and has surpassed so many goals that were set for her. We are very happy with this product and recommend it highly!
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gassy/Fussy and Hard to Find! My little one was born at 34 weeks and has had difficulty with weight gain. The pediatrician recommended staying on this for at least 6 months. We have been struggling to not only PAY for the formula but also FIND the formula. I have bought out the few cans our stores seem to have but I am not traveling all over the greater Chicago area to find formula. The other concerning issues is that my little lady has been gassy, uncomfortable and irritable on this formula however, needs the calories. She is so uncomfortable that she does not sleep through the night nor is she comfortable enough to sleep/nap which is affecting her growth as well. It's probably a great product but in our case it is a daunting product.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Causes Gas, Diarrhea and Vomiting! Our little man was born at 31 weeks. When we were discharged from the NICU we were informed that we would be giving our son two bottles of Neosure every day to ensure his growth. Ever since we started giving him the Neosure our little angel has turned into a fussy, gassy little man that no longer sleeps between feeds and diaper changes. He tosses and turns in the night in pain and has been so gassy. His healthy poops have turned into a black soupy mess. On two different occasions in a 4 day period he has projectile vomited the formula. I don’t see how these awful chemicals are going to help him grow and this is turning my life into a nightmare!
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Super Expensive & Gassy to boot! Hi there. My daughter was born at 33 weeks and in the NICU they gave her Similac Advanced in the 2oz ready-to-feed bottles. She seemed to do well with that while in the hospital but I was unable to find it once discharged. Then the pediatrician switched us to an Enfamil formula and after I had purchased, she changed it again. Now I have all of this formula and cannot return it. Currently we are on Similac Neosure in order to assist with weight gain. Unfortunately I just purchased the Similac Advanced, The Enfamil Gentle-Ease, and now the Similac Neosure and not only has this been SUPER expensive, but now my daughter is fussy and gassy! After she eats 1 ounce I burp her, hoping to combat the gassiness that will surely come later. That has not worked. She strains and cries, arches her back, doesn't have a bowel movement for days on end and constantly passes gas. I bought her some Tummy Calm per a recommendation and am hoping it will help with this. However, it definitely will not help the strain of my pocket book! Is there a program where I can swap my formula? Or a coupon I might be able to apply for? With all these different formulas I'm afraid I won't be able to afford another formula switch :-(
Date published: 2018-01-20
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_342
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Has your family been affected by Hurricane Florence?
disaster-close

If you or someone you know has been affected, find out how Similac® can help.

LEARN MORE