Similac

Similac® NeoSure®

Promotes catch-up growth during your premature baby’s first 12 months

 

Your premature baby didn’t get her full 9 months in the womb, so her body is working hard to catch up.

Help support her development in the first full year by feeding her Similac NeoSure, a nutrient-enriched* formula for babies who were born prematurely.

 

Supports excellent growth during baby’s first year.1

  • Increased protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula
  • Extra calories for growth
  • Calcium and phosphorus for baby’s growing bones

Supports better gains in weight, length, and head circumference for premature babies when compared to term infant formula.1 Has OptiGRO to support your baby's brain and eye development.

Learn more about the nutritional needs of your preemie.

Get tips for keeping your baby’s immune system strong.

Learn why catch-up growth is important.

* Increased protein, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula.
Reference: 1. Carver JD, et al. Pediatrics. 2001;107:638-689.

Similac NeoSure 13.1 oz formula with Iron for preemies

Available In:

13.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

2-fl-oz Ready to Feed

For babies who were born prematurely

Nutrition Information

Powder / 13.1 oz

Serving size: 100 Cal (4.5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    134

  • Protein, g:

    2.8

  • Fat, g:

    5.5

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.1

  • Water, g:

    120

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    750

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac NeoSure
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac NeoSure Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My preemie loves it. My little one was born at 29 weeks, and spent 2 months in the NICU.. due to my lack of production of breast milk, they started weaning her at 7 weeks to neosure from breast milk.. now she is almost 9 months, and going thru about 3 cans a week. I agree the cost definitely adds up, and she stays gassy, but neo sure has definitely kept her weight gain on track. Another thing I battle is actually finding neosure. Everytime I go to buy it, I have to hit 3-5 stores before lucking out. There must be a lot of preemies on neosure out there!
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My preeme baby My baby was born at 35 weeks, spent 2 weeks in the hospital but they weren't giving him this kind but when I saw his pediatrician she recommended this kind of formula and also sent a referral to wic so they would pay for it! Definitely ask if you can be put on wic if using this product, it is very expensive.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NeoSure: Formula for Weight Gain and Gas Production Our premie was born at 29 weeks and 2 days and stayed in the NICU for about 10 weeks. He was sent home on alternate breast milk and Neosure 24 combination. He was fed in quite measured quantities in the NICU, which, BTW, we always thought was less than sufficient for him (but we understand their cautious approach). At home we offered more and he took it happily. We believe that his excellent weight gain in the early weeks at home is due to this product, however, after about 10 weeks at home, his weight gain has reduced pace a little. He likes breastmilk over Neosure for sure, but he doesn't mind Neosure when hungry :) We notice that he can tolerate less volume of Neosure when compared to breastmilk, We also see more frequent spit-ups, and throw-ups with Neosure, both of these may be gas related. We also noticed that he goes less often when on Neosure (we have tried experimenting changing levels of Neosure). We tried some pear juice but that did not help much and was cutting into his calories. We wish there a less gassy version of this product.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So expensive and causes constipation/gas pains My preemie was born at 35 weeks and this is the formula my ped recommended we used at home. I’m not sure how anyone can afford to buy this weekly and then have preemie medical bills ontop of it. Something needs to be made that’s affordable and does the same job for our little ones. Crazy :( Also my baby squirms in pain every time he eats. Along with arching his back and grunting this formula gives him constipation and ALOT of gas. I feel so bad.
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product has been great for my baby but SOOO EXPENSIVE My baby was born at 35 weeks, but stopped growing at about week 31. He was 3lbs 10oz. The NICU sent us home with neosure, and the pediatrician recommended that he stay on it. He is about to rub out again. It's going to break the bank. There should be something out there for premie babies that doesn't break the bank.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but expensive My son was born 5 weeks early to due my having ore-eclampsia. This is the formula that the nicu and his pediatrician are telling me to use, and I want to continue to. It has helped him gain weight and it's easy to make. However, it is one of the more expensive ones and we have a lot of expenses what with me and him being hospitalized for 50 days. I wish it wasn't so pricey. 1-2 cans a week is almost $100 a month- a big expense.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain but causes constipation My preemie was born at 33 weeks and the NICU supplemented with the Neosure. It's done wonders for his growth but has caused so much gas and constipation.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great but tiny can This is a great product but it does cause our baby to be pretty gassy and constipated. I do not really like that it’s in such a tiny can because it’s pretty dang expensive!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Just wish it was a little more affordable. Our little guy was born at 29wks 5days. He spent 3 months in the NICU and was started on Neosure there. He did get a bit gassy when he came home, but nothing some over the counter (pediatrician approved) gas drops, & tummy massages couldn't handle. He only had a couple of doses before his stomach adjusted to the volume, and of course bottle feeding itself, as he had been fed through a feeding tube for the majority of his NICU stay. Weight gain was never a concern with him, and I believe a large part of that was due to this formula, & an abundance of prayer of course! The only downside, and reason I gave it 4 stars, has nothing to do with the quality of this product, but with the cost. Each can is almost $20.00, and now that he's going on 9mo (6mo adjusted) he goes through 2 and a half cans a week. We don't qualify for any sort of financial assistance so on top of our new homes mortgage (purchased just before finding out I was prego), hospital bills, daycare, and life in general, it's getting pretty difficult to keep up with little man's appetite. All in all, I would still whole heartedly recommend this product for preemie babies!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Constipated and Gassy This formula both ready to feed and powder made my 36week premie extremely gassy and constipated of course the NICU was feeding him this and he did fine in the hospital with an IV but once we got home his bowel movements have been maybe once a day if that. I can tell he’s hydrated because he’s peeing a lot and it’s a light in color. But he has been extremely unconfortable since being home with how gassy and consitpated he has been. With being a new single mother it has been very tough for me to comfort him when he has his rough days. We will be consulting with his pediatrician about another formula that will be better for him. Originally he was started on Similac because that’s what WIC here prefers, but I’d rather pay more out of pocket and have my baby comfortable without the headache.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for preemies but with some caveats. Our twins were born at 34 weeks so they have been on NeoSure since the get go. It has helped them tremendously. However, now that we are a few months old and still on it, we have noticed the following: - NeoSure makes our preemies constipated with less bowel movements than with breastmilk - NeoSure makes them EXTREMELY gassy which creates fuzzy nights - NeoSure cans are so tiny and our twins go through so many of them that it’s a hassle. These bottles are $20 each and we go through a can every day and a half so imagine the huge expenditure. I wish NeoSure would listen to the consumers and make some fixes to their product. Apart from that, this is great for our preemies.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Our little one has been on this since day one after being 4 weeks early. Just wish it came in bigger containers since even after almost 6 months our dr says our little one won't be stopping it anytime soon. Just wish we would get more coupons since its so expensive for a tiny can.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely pros and cons This formula is great for my 28 weeker, whom is now 6 months. We had slight consiptation (all babies get constipated) but this formula still works great. Super grateful except I really really wish they made a bigger can!!!!! I’ve heard excuses about “because kids don’t drink it for long” but that’s a lie. Since birth it was added calories to my BM but now it’s straight neosure and her pediatrician doesnt see us changing so it’s kind of a pain. And I wish the stores sold it in the box, it’s nice to get some from the NICU follow up and it have the 2$ coupon!
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neosure is excellent boon for premature babies i had a premature baby boy who was born a month before the expected date. me and wife were so worried about the health of the baby during the time of the delivery. for our good, the baby was born healthy and was weighing 5.5 pounds which is less to the standard charts that are recommend. we met our pediatrician and raised our concern and she advised to give neosure starting the second monthly checkup. As my wife was also feeding and her milk was not completely enough we decided to do Neosure during morning and afternoon. Initially the baby has gas issues with neosure and we diluted the milk with more water to help him not to run into any digestion problems. We slowly increased from 2.5 FL to 3.5 FL. Sooner from third checkup, we saw excellent result in terms of baby hieght, weight and head circumference. He is also very active. i would highly recommend Neosure to premature babies and it will work wonders if we are cautious of how much dilution your baby should take. it would be nicer here if they allow to share the pics of the baby before and after the neosure consumption so we really see a pictorial difference:) Thanks Samilac for being another mom for my baby .
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gas and discomfort My baby has been on Neosure since he was born at 4 pds. His doctor suggested the ready to feed neosure, which I didn't have any problems with. After a while I switched over to the powder and it seems like he's been extremely gassy and has started spitting up way more frequently. During night time hours he seems to grunt and whine as if he has an upset stomach. I'm currently looking for an alternative because it breaks my heart to see him moan in pain. This is a great product to help your baby gain weight, but I don't recommend keeping your baby on this formula very long.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my preemie twins! My twins were born at 31 weeks with an emergency c-section. My daughter was 3 lbs 15 oz and my son was 4 lbs 7 oz. Both of them were feed breastmilk with the NeoSure 22 cal powder to help them gain weight. My daughter came home after 5 weeks and my son after 7 weeks. My little girl still needs the NeoSure added to her Breastmilk to help her gain weight since she is in the bottom 5% on the growth chart. The formula can be found at all my local stores (Publix, Target, Walmart, BabiesRus), however, it is quite expensive.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but impossible to find My daughter was born at 34 weeks and was in the nicu for 6 days. This formula helped her gain the weight she needed to come to home to us. The hospital had given us a few packages of the ready feed formula to bring home with us. My daughter drinks them with no problems. However, after searching 5 different stores and online, we could NOT find them anywhere! It was very frustrating!
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product has pros and cons for sure I am in the club with everyone else, I have premature twin girls who were admitted into NICU at birth the nurses gave them the premade formula and it helped we even fortified my wifes BM but at home on 100% powder they experience intense gas pains and all night...they have irregular bowl movements now as well...its helping them....and not helping them
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did wonders for my micro preemie!! My daughter is a micro preemie, she was born at just 23 weeks. That plus stress and a lack of skin to skin wreaked havoc on my milk supply. Neosure had to take its place, it did WONDERS!!! Definitely recommend, but does cause constipation.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has pros and cons I've read some of the reviews to see what other moms are experiencing and I am not alone. My daughter was born at 32wks only weighing 3lbs 3ozs and Neosure has helped her grow wonderfully. She's now 8lbs 2ozs an 2 1/2 mos. My milk supply slowed down and I had to make the switch. Unfortunately it gives her terrible gas and she looks like she's in pain to pass a bowel movement. I was at first instructed to recipe a 55ml to 1 scoop ratio and an 80ml to 2 scoops in order for her to gain weight fast. It worked. She had a GI visit 3wks ago and I mentioned the gas constipation and they only suggested changing up to follow the recipe on the can to see if that would help, I have not seen any improvements so far. I thought well maybe she's lactose intolerant but they say she's too young to tell or have....I don't know what to do at this point. She'll be 3mos June 4th.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped Preemie gain weight but terrible ga and constipation Our little one (LO) was 6 weeks early and spent a few weeks in the NICU. Our pediatrician gave us orders to give our LO Neosure but was still not gaining enough weight was sent to GI doctor who then told us to fortify the formula to 27 Cal. Our LO gas gained a decent amount of weight and is back to the standard 22 Cal. We are happy with the weight gain however our LO is still suffering from terrible gas and constipation. Doctors suggested giving apple juice however we see little relief but want us to continue with Neosure because it is the best at this moment. Very happy with this product, just hate seeing my LO in pain with gas and constipation.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked For Us I had extreme skepticism and concerns before using this product with the reviews I read. Fortunately our baby boy who is 6 weeks old has responded well to it with no issues. Our doctor in the hospital said customers only write bad reviews, so here's a good one to give you some hope.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders on my Preemies I had a set of premature Twins (4 lbs 6 oz and 5 lbs 7 oz). Our pediatrician will only recommend NeoSure. There's no other replacement like it on the market. It's put the weight on my babies. And they are both happy and healthy.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for Micro Preemie Weight Gain My son was born at 26 weeks. The NICU supplemented my breast milk with the Neosure 22cal and I continued once home for his first 5 months. At 6 months I transitioned him to complete formula bottles. The Neosure 22cal has been amazing for my son. He has gained weight and length. We have experienced constipation but nothing severe. A little ounce of pear juice helps with it. I highly recommend this product for Micro-Preemies.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constipated Twins I pretty much have the same problem as shelbiwelbi. My twins were born March 3rd at 32 weeks. While they were in the NICU, they were taking the Ready to Feed bottles. When they were discharged 13 days later, we were sent home with a couple days worth of the bottles as well. Both boys were having regular bowel movements a couple times a day but about a day or two after switching to the powder I noticed that they both were constipated. Immediately after they eat, they grunt and strain to produce a bowel movement that sometimes never happens. At some point of the day, if a bowel movement finally happens, they resemble rabbit pellets or a hard ball. (SORRY IF THAT'S TOO MUCH INFO) Like the previous poster stated, this too breaks my heart and makes me want to cry when I see the pain in their faces from the issues they are having. I came to this site to gather some info before switching the formula. My suspicion seemed to be confirmed and I also see that my babies aren't the only ones having this problem.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constipated my daughter severely My daughter was born at 34 (almost 35) weeks and was in the NICU for 2 weeks. While she was there she was given the ready made bottles of this formula to supplement for breast milk. Thankfully I was producing a good amount of milk and for the most part she didn’t even have to drink the formula, but even before she was drinking 100% breast milk she was never constipated, gassy, or fussy. The NICU sent us home with a can of the Neosure and her pediatrician gave us 3 cans as well when she found out my milk supply started to decrease. At about 5 weeks I had to start supplementing with formula and I noticed an immidiate change. My daughter (who normally pooped after every feeding, every 3 hours) was pooping once a day, and she struggled all day because she was constipated. She was in so much pain, it made me want to cry. I did my research on the internet and found out that several other parents complained about the same problem. I’ve also read that this formula helps premie babies gain weight, which is great, but my daughter had no problem gaining weight before the formula. But I’m not sure the payoff is worth the pain. The only good thing I have to say about the formula is it helped my daughter sleep longer.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but causes gas issues My twins are using neosure after being discharged from the nicu. I noticed they were fine while using the formula in the nicu but experienced constipation and bad gas when at home. I'm assuming this is due to the powder versus ready to feed. What is the difference in the formula blend that would make the ready to feed easier to digest?
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product causes severe gas My son was born premature at 33 weeks. During his time in NICU he was given the ready made Neosure. We continued with neosure once we were released but switched to powder due to cost. I'm assuming its the same product, however, my son has severe gas pains after each feeding. He turns red, grunts, pushes, high cries to release a small air from his bottom. I know babies can have normal gas, but this is not normal. Peditrician does not want to change formula yet and waiting to see at his next apt. One positive my son has gained weight BUT at what cost- its painful to see him struggle with gas.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gassy , projectile vomiting and constipation Oh My! Preemie twins born at 34 weeks and Nicu gave Neosure. They have had Neosure till now at 4 months old. Both have gained weight and seem healthy. BUT....they have gone thru many periods of painful gas, straining from constipation, projectile vomiting and overall crankiness and crying after a Neosure feeding. Not happy with the side effects and their doctor won't suggest an alternative.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it - wish you would have the 8oz ready to feed This has worked great for our son and his weight gain. Just wish you had the 8oz ready to feed bottles, or even the pre-measured on the go packets. Those would come in handy for travel and being out an about.
Date published: 2018-03-04
  • y_2018, m_11, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_352
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
close-btn