Similac

Similac® NeoSure®

Promotes catch-up growth during your premature baby’s first 12 months

 

Your premature baby didn’t get her full 9 months in the womb, so her body is working hard to catch up.

Help support her development in the first full year by feeding her Similac NeoSure, a nutrient-enriched* formula for babies who were born prematurely.

 

Supports excellent growth during baby’s first year.1

  • Increased protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula
  • Extra calories for growth
  • Calcium and phosphorus for baby’s growing bones

Supports better gains in weight, length, and head circumference for premature babies when compared to term infant formula.1 Has OptiGRO to support your baby's brain and eye development.

Learn more about the nutritional needs of your preemie.

Get tips for keeping your baby’s immune system strong.

Learn why catch-up growth is important.

* Increased protein, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula.
Reference: 1. Carver JD, et al. Pediatrics. 2001;107:638-689.

Similac NeoSure 13.1 oz formula with Iron for preemies

Available In:

13.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

2-fl-oz Ready to Feed

For babies who were born prematurely

Nutrition Information

Powder / 13.1 oz

Serving size: 100 Cal (4.5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    134

  • Protein, g:

    2.8

  • Fat, g:

    5.5

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.1

  • Water, g:

    120

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    750

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac NeoSure
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac NeoSure Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased Used this to fortify some breastmilk bottles with my 33weeker. After stopping pumping and giving away a TON of frozen breastmilk, I ran out at 8 months (still nursing before and after daycare) so she is on similac neosure for about two big bottles per day. Have had no issues with gas or constipation as others mentioned. Only thing is the price, obviously, and I do wish they sold in LARGER QUANTITIES. We go through about a can per week right now and I try to buy when there's a sale or coupon.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Issues with the powder I'm a first time mom and I had my baby at 33 weeks and 5 days and was in the nicu for 18 days. They gave her the neosure for premies ready to use twice a day to give her extra calories the closer it got to her going home. They sent her home with about two weeks of the 2oz bottles of the ready to use and a can of the powder. No real issues with the 2oz mix besides her spitting a little of it up after feeding it to her. Once we started the powder, she spit up a lot more, had a lot of mucus and was very gassy and constipated and its getting worse. She is a little over 6 weeks and the gas and constipation is so bad now that she will lift/stand on her leggs sticking her butt out while crying/screaming to the top of her lungs and they want her on it twice a day since I bf her.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pricey but worth it My son was born at 32 weeks and has been healthy all along (now 4 months). He's on Neosure exclusively now after supplementing with breast milk. He was 4lbs 9oz at birth and has thrived. He's now in the 60th percentile for growth for his actual age. I only wish this formula was offered in a more economical size. We use 2-3 cans a week and it's pretty expensive for us. But we'll stick with it until the pediatrician tells us otherwise.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain but... My son was born at 35 weeks but was only 3lbs 14oz. The hospital nicu put him on the premade (ready to feed) bottles and he did great. Hardly lost any weight after birth and was at 4lbs 8oz in less than 2 weeks. Since we came home we had to switch to the powder (WIC only pays for powdered cans) and he's always in so much pain from gas and spits up after every feeding. He never fussed or cried at all til we switched to the powder. I definitely love the fact that he's gaining weight so well just wish it didn't make him feel so bad.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for extra calories Love this product just wish it came in bigger cans. My son was born at 36 weeks and a day and it was recommended to gain weight. I make it with 21 ounces of water and 14 scoops of powder for the bottles throughout the day. He gets 27 calories from this rather than 22. It's how they were feeding him in the NICU.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for growth but causes tumny aches Our son was born at 39 weeks, 6 days but was SGA (small for gestational age). I tried breastfeeding but he won't latch and I couldn't get my milk to produce or come out after pumping and trying to hand express. The nurses at the hospital suggested this formula to help him gain weight. He gained ounces in days and is steady growing. Lately we've noticed he's having more gas and spit up after feedings, crying and arching his back. We did switch to the powder formula once we left the hospital, so we may need to go back to the liquid version.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stick with liquid! Our baby was born 36wks ..in NiCU they gave him neosure 2oz ready to feed bottles. We switched to powder formula neosure when we got home and he became gassy, constipated and fussy. We have gone back to the 2oz ready to feed bottles and the liquid 1qt and he is not constipated and less gassy. Hopibg once we come off the neosure we can try powder again, liquid is expensive!
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's alright I had to have my baby boy at 36 weeks due to preeclampsia. He's been gaining weight and doing real well, but as of a couple days ago I've notice he's been having issues going poo and he's been really gassy. It breaks my heart seeing him like this :(
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Baby gains weight but with side effects My baby was born at 30 weeks and as per doctor's and NICUs orders we started him on this formula. However, the gasiness and constipation are not joke. He has gained weight, but it is so hard to watch him be in pain after every feeding. I will be asking the doctor about other options at the next visit- there has to be something else.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain, super gassy fussy baby. My baby was born at 34 weeks weighing 4lb 15 oz. she was in NICU for 2 weeks and has been on this formula since the hospital. She had gained weight great but man does it upset her tummy. She's super gassy and sometimes arches her back like she's in pain. Even while sleeping she will wake up yelling arcing her back. It's so hard to watch but her doctors said she will have to stay on it until she's about 9 months!! I don't think I can keep her on it that long.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job! We are so happy that our boys have been growing well with this formula. They were born at 33 weeks 5 days almost 5 weeks ago. At birth they weighed 4 lb 13oz and 5lb 2oz. They are now over 7lbs. During their almost 3 week long NICU stay we noticed nurses using tricks to help with upset and immature tummies. Since coming home and increasing formula we are noticing more spit ups and fussiness. We are considering switching to a sensitive formula- it's hard to watch them be uncomfortable. But, we are really happy with their progress so we are waiting on doctor's recommendation.
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! My baby was born at 29 weeks and this has been wonderful. She was 2.5 lbs and is now 21lbs at 15 months. She is doing amazing. You'd never know she was so premature. It has kept her so healthy l. She is just now switching to milk and stuff. Definitely would recommend it!
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for premature baby! My baby was born at 33 weeks due to placentia abruption. He was placed in NICU and Neosure was the formula that he hospital uses. My baby gained weight gradually. It seems that Neosure provides premature baby great nutrition. Many pediatricians in my area actually recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is wonderful. My baby was born @38 weeks and 5 days but she had a cleft lip and palate. We had a hard time with feeding and even when she's eating well after staying 3 weeks in the hospital , she wasn't gaining weight. Her pediatrician recommended that we use a formula with more calories. We tried Similac neosure and after few weeks on it she was finally gaining weight and she is a happy baby. She is now getting ready for her first procedure. Thanks Similac!
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICU recommended My twins were born at 32 weeks. We have been adding Neosure since coming home to fortify my milk. Since going back to work we have transitioned to just formula. I love the product just wish it came in the bigger tubs as the little cans get very costly.
Date published: 2017-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but needs to be in larger tub like your other products With twins, we're using a lot of Neosure... The smaller cans are too small for our situation, and as they grow, will become more of a burden. Please consider making Neosure available in the larger tub like your other formulas. We would most sincerely appreciate it! Also, it would be great if there was a share of Abbott Labs stock on the obverse of the formula label :-)
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICU Recommended for Preemies My daughter was born at 28 weeks, and 2 days gestation, and weighed 1 lb. 15 oz. She was on breastmilk until I could no longer produce milk. The NICU she was at then gradually transitioned her on Neosure. She has been on it ever since. She will be one-year-old in a few weeks. A few times we had problems with gassiness, but that went away. She hasn't had any problems since she was around 3 months old and at that time I alternated a Neosure bottle with Similac Sensitive and that seemed to work. I found the 2 oz. nurser bottles at Toys R Us and Amazon and used them when she was a newborn. Now that she's bigger I have to buy the 32 oz. bottle or the powder. You can find the powder at our local Walmart, but it's hard to find the 32 oz in-store. I have to order it online now. I wish it was more readily available. She has to stay on this formula until she reaches her adjusted age. Also, it was really hard to find during our last hurricane too- glad I had ordered a shipment of the nursers Online. I highly recommend for any preemie!
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product but does have a couple down falls. My baby was born at 33 weeks weighing in at 2lbs 14oz. We spend some time in the NICU and we have been supplementing with the neosure. It has been helping her gain weight which has been fantastic but on the down side it causes extreme gassiness. And the price is out of our budget to where we are about to have to try and find a different formula to use :( we go through about a can and a half a week because we are having to give more than the recommended to add calories. It would also be nice if this was offered in the tubs and not just the cans. Financially it is rough but because our little is gaining so well on it we are scrapping by :)
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does what it promises, but with side effects My baby was born at 35 weeks and as per doctor's orders we supplemented breastfeeding with this formula. Breastfeeding has been a painful experience, so I was hoping to keep up my supply by pumping and it hasn't worked. Consequently we have had to increase the formula. Everything was fine until this point; no exaggeration, the reviews aren't kidding about the gasiness and constipation. She has gained weight, but it is awful seeing her suffer from the gas pain. I will be asking the doctor about other options at the next visit because this is ridiculous.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Love this formula I was scared my premie wouldn't have all the nutrition she would need to help develop and grow and with formula my worries are gone
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does its job! My baby was born at 35 weeks weighing 4 lbs 15 ounces. Neosure was recommended by the pediatrician. He is growing well and gaining weight. At 2 months, he was over 10 lbs. However, he is extremely gassy and moves his bowels every 3-5 days.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for weight gain but its gassy for baby tummy my baby boy was born 31 weeks with 3.1lb weight on feb 5th. he was in NICU for 45 days and this formula helped him a lot in weight gain still using this for him. i recommend this but its too costly compare to other similac formula.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain, but makes baby gassy My baby was born four weeks early due to a placenta abruption. He weighed in at 4 lbs 10 oz. at his last appt he was at least 9 lbs and he's almost 2 months old. He's got to weigh well over that by now because that was just two weeks ago. I love how much this has helped my little man grow and grow and grow. We love going to the dr to weigh him and he's hitting milestones. Would definitely recommend for little premature babies that need to grow. My biggest and only complaint is how hard this is on my baby's tummy. He went three days without pooping so the dr recommended butt stimulation... which was so hard to watch. He had such hard poops. We started him on probiotic drops once a day. He also gets gas drops and gripe water consistently. All of these things have made the gas bearable and much easier for us but he still squeals in gas pain occasionally. Wish this product was a bit easier on the tummy
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my babies growth My baby was born at 37 weeks weighting 4 pounds 8 ounces We than later had our 1 week appointment after being released after 4 days at the hospital she weighted 5 pounds 5 ounces I proudly can say this formula has and is going to be the best need for my baby!! Really highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain, makes baby gassy Our baby was born at 32 weeks 2 days. She was originally on a liquid fortifier with breastmilk, but was switched to NeoSure during transitional care in the NICU. She handled the change very well! However, since my supply has decreased and we are using more formula, we have noticed an issue with gas and constipation. Overall, we love the formula and will continue to use.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weight gain My twin boys were born prematurely at 33.4 weeks, At 4.7, 4.10 lbs, they spent 2 weeks in the NICU and we were encouraged to start them on The Neosure formula, like most of the other reviews this product is great for weight gain, and the babies seem to drink it down just fine. They seem to like it and our pediatrician is amazed how much weight they've put on since they left the hospital. but we do notice the babies are very gassy! We usually use gas drops after every feeding. Just a warning for the other parents out there! So with that said we Love the product,minus the gas, and the high cost of this formula! We go through 2 cans a week and like most parents try to find coupons to help with the cost, but have been unsuccessful hopefully we can continue to use it as long as we can afford to. Twins are expensive!! If there are Coupons, or larger cans available? please let us know!
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well for weight gain, but not for the tummy. My son was born at 31 weeks. He is 3 months now. We supplement with formula in his breastmilk. We like this formula because it works well for weight gain and he likes the taste of it, but he gets terrible gas and occasionally vomits after having the formula. We tried switching to alimentum but he couldn't stand the taste. We are staying with the neosute just because he will take it in his bottle and is gaining more weight, just wish it was easier on the tummy.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great but pricey my twins were 34 weeks, 4.14 lb and 5.5 lb and it has helped them gain their weight fast! i love it and is really good on their stomach
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, Very expensive My wife and I gave birth to identical twin boys at 34 weeks. both boys have been on Similac Neosure 22 for a while and I love the product. They have gained over a pound each in just 3 weeks. They will remain on the Neosure for quite some time. My only complaint is how expensive the product is. Each baby is going through about a can a week and with 2 babies, that really puts a strain on the bank account. We make too much money for any sort of government aid so we are left to fend for ourselves. I will continue to buy as it is what is best for our boys.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36weeker My Daughter was born at 36 weeks, when she was born her blood sugar dropped to 10. they took her to the nicu and gave her this formula. Sense then her pediatrician still has her on it because of her weight shes super tiny 2 months now and still in premie. This formula has helped her gain weight but the gas she has and the discomfort she has is so sad. I just give her gripe water and gash drops and it helps.
Date published: 2017-06-24
  • y_2018, m_7, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_335
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT