Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
Find out how Similac® can help >

Similac

Similac® NeoSure®

Promotes catch-up growth during your premature baby’s first 12 months

 

Your premature baby didn’t get her full 9 months in the womb, so her body is working hard to catch up.

Help support her development in the first full year by feeding her Similac NeoSure, a nutrient-enriched* formula for babies who were born prematurely.

 

Supports excellent growth during baby’s first year.1

  • Increased protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula
  • Extra calories for growth
  • Calcium and phosphorus for baby’s growing bones

Supports better gains in weight, length, and head circumference for premature babies when compared to term infant formula.1 Has OptiGRO to support your baby's brain and eye development.

Learn more about the nutritional needs of your preemie.

Get tips for keeping your baby’s immune system strong.

Learn why catch-up growth is important.

* Increased protein, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula.
Reference: 1. Carver JD, et al. Pediatrics. 2001;107:638-689.

Similac NeoSure 13.1 oz formula with Iron for preemies

Available In:

13.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

2-fl-oz Ready to Feed

For babies who were born prematurely

Nutrition Information

Powder / 13.1 oz

Serving size: 100 Cal (4.5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    134

  • Protein, g:

    2.8

  • Fat, g:

    5.5

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.1

  • Water, g:

    120

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    750

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac NeoSure
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac NeoSure Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does what it promises, but with side effects My baby was born at 35 weeks and as per doctor's orders we supplemented breastfeeding with this formula. Breastfeeding has been a painful experience, so I was hoping to keep up my supply by pumping and it hasn't worked. Consequently we have had to increase the formula. Everything was fine until this point; no exaggeration, the reviews aren't kidding about the gasiness and constipation. She has gained weight, but it is awful seeing her suffer from the gas pain. I will be asking the doctor about other options at the next visit because this is ridiculous.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Love this formula I was scared my premie wouldn't have all the nutrition she would need to help develop and grow and with formula my worries are gone
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does its job! My baby was born at 35 weeks weighing 4 lbs 15 ounces. Neosure was recommended by the pediatrician. He is growing well and gaining weight. At 2 months, he was over 10 lbs. However, he is extremely gassy and moves his bowels every 3-5 days.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for weight gain but its gassy for baby tummy my baby boy was born 31 weeks with 3.1lb weight on feb 5th. he was in NICU for 45 days and this formula helped him a lot in weight gain still using this for him. i recommend this but its too costly compare to other similac formula.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain, but makes baby gassy My baby was born four weeks early due to a placenta abruption. He weighed in at 4 lbs 10 oz. at his last appt he was at least 9 lbs and he's almost 2 months old. He's got to weigh well over that by now because that was just two weeks ago. I love how much this has helped my little man grow and grow and grow. We love going to the dr to weigh him and he's hitting milestones. Would definitely recommend for little premature babies that need to grow. My biggest and only complaint is how hard this is on my baby's tummy. He went three days without pooping so the dr recommended butt stimulation... which was so hard to watch. He had such hard poops. We started him on probiotic drops once a day. He also gets gas drops and gripe water consistently. All of these things have made the gas bearable and much easier for us but he still squeals in gas pain occasionally. Wish this product was a bit easier on the tummy
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my babies growth My baby was born at 37 weeks weighting 4 pounds 8 ounces We than later had our 1 week appointment after being released after 4 days at the hospital she weighted 5 pounds 5 ounces I proudly can say this formula has and is going to be the best need for my baby!! Really highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain, makes baby gassy Our baby was born at 32 weeks 2 days. She was originally on a liquid fortifier with breastmilk, but was switched to NeoSure during transitional care in the NICU. She handled the change very well! However, since my supply has decreased and we are using more formula, we have noticed an issue with gas and constipation. Overall, we love the formula and will continue to use.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weight gain My twin boys were born prematurely at 33.4 weeks, At 4.7, 4.10 lbs, they spent 2 weeks in the NICU and we were encouraged to start them on The Neosure formula, like most of the other reviews this product is great for weight gain, and the babies seem to drink it down just fine. They seem to like it and our pediatrician is amazed how much weight they've put on since they left the hospital. but we do notice the babies are very gassy! We usually use gas drops after every feeding. Just a warning for the other parents out there! So with that said we Love the product,minus the gas, and the high cost of this formula! We go through 2 cans a week and like most parents try to find coupons to help with the cost, but have been unsuccessful hopefully we can continue to use it as long as we can afford to. Twins are expensive!! If there are Coupons, or larger cans available? please let us know!
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well for weight gain, but not for the tummy. My son was born at 31 weeks. He is 3 months now. We supplement with formula in his breastmilk. We like this formula because it works well for weight gain and he likes the taste of it, but he gets terrible gas and occasionally vomits after having the formula. We tried switching to alimentum but he couldn't stand the taste. We are staying with the neosute just because he will take it in his bottle and is gaining more weight, just wish it was easier on the tummy.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great but pricey my twins were 34 weeks, 4.14 lb and 5.5 lb and it has helped them gain their weight fast! i love it and is really good on their stomach
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, Very expensive My wife and I gave birth to identical twin boys at 34 weeks. both boys have been on Similac Neosure 22 for a while and I love the product. They have gained over a pound each in just 3 weeks. They will remain on the Neosure for quite some time. My only complaint is how expensive the product is. Each baby is going through about a can a week and with 2 babies, that really puts a strain on the bank account. We make too much money for any sort of government aid so we are left to fend for ourselves. I will continue to buy as it is what is best for our boys.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36weeker My Daughter was born at 36 weeks, when she was born her blood sugar dropped to 10. they took her to the nicu and gave her this formula. Sense then her pediatrician still has her on it because of her weight shes super tiny 2 months now and still in premie. This formula has helped her gain weight but the gas she has and the discomfort she has is so sad. I just give her gripe water and gash drops and it helps.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff is not cheap! Our little girl was born IUGR at 35 weeks at 3lbs. I am proud to say similac is the reason at 11 weeks she is an 9lb baby! The NICU started us off just adding it to the milk I was able to pump. As we got her home I have had issues with my milk and we are on neosure full time. It is an amazing product but man is it a bank breaker. As moms we will do anything for our kids and I am here to tell you that it is worth it for your baby health to get the good stuff!
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, but expensive My baby was born at 35 weeks and was put on neosure in the NICU. It's helped him double his weight in just 6 weeks. But the product is very expensive and I don't qualify for state aid. Also it's been giving him terrible gas pains and constipation.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great with premies for weight gain this help my premie gain weight and keep her maintain weight while breastfeeding. easy to digest on her little tummy.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Preemie loves it as much as we do! I started using Neosure to fortify my breastmilk when my son came home from the NICU. He was born at 29 weeks and had a 55 day stay at the NICU. Our doctor recommended a 1/2 tsp of Neosure for every 4 ounces of breastmilk and our preemie has handled it extremely well. My husband and I were worried about introducing formula to our son so early, but our worries were gone once we saw how well he tolerated it, and how he gained over the past few months. His birth weight was 2lbs 11oz. Five months later he is now 11lbs 3oz. Our only concern is that we will be needing to switch to all formula and although we want to continue to use Neosure, from a financial standpoint we are concerned about the price. Does your company offer any promotions or rewards for Neosure to help parents with the cost of Neosure? My husband and I really want to use Neosure until he is off formula completely.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Gains... My daughter was born 4/11/17, 4lbs (3lbs 11oz discharge) at 35wks due to being eclampsia and thanks to God, she only had one issue and that was the bilirubin levels high because of me having HELLP along with my high BP. Now, I will say that her weight gain was incredible. I went through 2 cases of the 2oz already made in a month that was added with my breast milk. At first, she wouldn't drink the pure NeoSure, but combined with my milk, she would take it. The 1st month, she gained 2lbs and I'm not sure if the NeoSure or if it's my diet that's contributing to her excessive gassiness creating this horrible disconfort. I never thought the supplement could cause the gas bubbles, so I'll be omitting the other milk to make sure if she continues cause she's became more fussy than normal. Now, if I don't feel like breastfeeding or I can't, I'll give her just pure NeoSure (which she'll drink), however, she spits up way more with it especially if you don't burp her afterwards. For the women who say they have a hard time finding the product, if you have Amazon or AmazonPrime, my mom bought me cases containing 48 tiny bottles. You can find virtually anything there and get them quickly if you have Prime.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2-fl-oz Ready to feed is UNAVAILABLE at any store My son is at 31 weeks and this is the recommended baby formula from the hospital. We got discharged from the hospital FINALLY last 5-5-17. I travel a lot and having a ready to feed bottle is a good thing to have. I went to walgreens, CVS, 3 different branches of walmart, and did online research. I CANNOT FIND ONE!! until last friday, I went to walmart online website and I saw that it was available now. So I ordered 24pcs of it through walmart last Friday 5/12/17 coz it states in their website that they have it. The package came in this morning and they send me the wrong kind. They send me a can for 6-12 months old 3cans for DIARRHEA. I called it in and they apologized for sending me the wrong one and that they will refund my pay because they don't have that milk available. My son is a month old and being a premie baby is stressful as it is. Let alone the milk that u needed is NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. Please help me getting this milk SIMILAC.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My baby takes this My baby girl is in so much pain from this formula. I hate the gas and constipation and I hate giving it to her. It breaks my heart that she is in pain. She was born at 35 weeks cause I was really sick and we both about died.. Because I had pre eclammpsia and help syndrome. We have to give it to her twice a day. And I refuse to.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for weight gain... that's about it. Daughter was born at 33 weeks 4 days, and had a 6 week NICU stay. She was put on this formula in the NICU. This formula is amazing for weight gain, she puts on an average of a half a pound a week, BUT the gassyness, constipation and pain that it causes on a daily basis are unreal. Similac! PLEASE CHANGE YOUR FORMULA! If 99% of the reviews for a product complain about gassyness, constipation and/or pain, don't you think it would be a clue to do something about it?! ONLY RECOMENDING THIS PRODUCT FOR THE WEIGHT GAIN AND NITRITIONAL VALUES. THE SIDE EFFECTS ARE ALMOST NOT WORTH IT!
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best This is the best formula ever!my baby girl was born 26 weeks, being a micro preemie this formula did the best,she never had any problems with it,no gassy, no colic,none!they used this formula while in NICU ,now at home I'm still using it,until she's 1 year adjusted, it's full of minerals, vitamins, nutrients It's our life saver!!!! Thank you so much SIMILAC!!!!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just AMAZING! We have twin boys that were born @ 34 weeks. They were not making weight gains by just eating breast milk. The NICU staff and doctors decided to give them this formula every 3 hours. They started to make a great change and only had to stay at the hospital for 13 days. We are so over the moon with their gains. Their doctor has said that since they are doing so well with this formula that they will stay on this for at least the first 6 month or maybe longer. The only down side to this product is that we cannot find any coupons for this formula. We have found coupons for other Similac products, just not this one. We would love to be able to find it in bulk so that the price might be cheaper. If there are any other parents that have found this product at a discounted price or has found a place to get coupons for this product pleas post on this site. Sincerely, One Blessed Family
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you My son was born at 31 weeks at only 3 lbs he is only 2moths now and is almost 7 lbs he seems to be gaianing a good chunk of weight since I stopped with donor milk in the hospital and he started on this formula thank you similac for helping feed my baby #fedisbest
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gains, but major gas and pain! My daughter was born at 35 weeks and spent three weeks in the NICU. She was perfectly healthy, but needed to gain weight and learn to eat. She was on breast milk supplemented with Neosure for a while, and now she's on mostly breast milk with a few pure Neosure feeds a day. It has really helped her gain weight, but the gas (and accompanying pain) it causes is a real drawback. Both the NICU nurses and our pediatrician recommended gas drops, which we use, but they only seem to help a little bit. It also backs her up; we went from having several small stools a day to one large stool every 2-3 days that is hard for her to pass. So, it's great that she's gaining weight, but there are some drawbacks for her comfort. Also, I can only find small cans at the store, and they are EXPENSIVE - we use about a can a week, and at roughly $20/can, it really adds up. I can't find any coupons for this product, either, which is incredibly frustrating. I will do whatever I need to do for my daughter, but this is an added expense we don't need after spending a month in the NICU.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gaining fast with minor issues Our son was born 26 weeks and was in the NICU for 12 weeks after and has been on the neosure for the last few weeks after the mother's milk came to a stop. He obviously needs the food and nourishment and this has worked great! He's gaining quickly despite his premature lung disease which makes it hard to eat large quantities at one time. The downfall is the gassiness; and with a herniated belly button it makes it unbearable to watch him in agony most of the time. We've gotten stomach suppressants to help which made a difference but now he has a bowel movement almost every meal time. Also bigger and cheaper cans would make this entire process that much easier! Overall this has been a great help to our little boys development!
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product for preemies I had twin girls on 3/22/17 and they spent time in NICU. While there they were given Neosure ready made bottles. We continued to use the bottles and then transitioned to the powder. With having twins we go through a can every other day and it is expensive and hard to find in stock. It would be helpful if there was a store locator which told you which stores carried this formula. It would also help if it was available in a larger size for people feeding multiples. My daughters have gained weight since leaving the hospital and our Pediatrician said to continue to use but the pain one of them gets from the gas is unbearable to watch her strain from gas and constipation.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to find, efficient but causes tummy issues, expensive My son was born at 34weeks on 3/30/17. The nicu started him on neosure. He was getting breast milk and the neosure 50/50. My milk has been drying up so now he is getting mostly neosure. Since this change he went from 2-3 bowel movements a day to one large bowel movement every 2-3 days. He arches his back in pain and turns bright red and cries from gas. The pediatrician said this was okay. It pains me to see him so gassy and uncomfortable. But I do believe the benefits outweigh the cons in my situation. I live in NYC, there are 8 stores near me (cvs, rite aid, duane reade, walgreens) out of the 8, ONLY 2 had it in stock and each store ONLY had one can! How do we get these stores to stock up?! I can only use the coupons mailed to me in store so this causes a problem from me. Also, this formula is expensive but knowing that it works well in helping him gain weight it makes sense. With the similac strong rewards I don't believe this formula qualifies because it doesn't come in a 12oz powder can.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for our Micro Preemie Our granddaughter was born at 25 weeks weighing only 1 lb 2 oz. She was in the NICU almost 5 months. She is home and thriving well on Neosure. She is almost 10 lbs now and is almost 8 months old actual. She has a G Button that she is fed through but we pray she will one day be able to take full bottles. We are pleased with how well she is growing on the Neosure. The cans are very expensive so I'm hoping you could send some coupons to help our little miracle baby keep thriving and growing.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped her gain weight, but caused incredible Gas We have used Neosure on our daughter who was 6 weeks premature. It helped her put on a significant amount of weight. But she experiences a lot of gas, and her belly bloats to a point that we were very concerned. She's doing very well though.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for preemies Babygirl was born at 28 wks back in January, she's been taking breast milk fortified with formula since birth. Didn't have a problem the whole 9 wks in NICU. Now that baby is 3 months old, she's having a lot of gas and colic. Feel bad seeing my little one in so much pain but I have seen how much neosure has helped with her developement and I know the benefits out weigh the cons. I have seen my less than 3lb preemie grow into an 11lb 3 month old and I would recommend this formula to any NICU parent. It's not so bad now with baby taking fortified breast milk, but with my milk drying up and her only on formula I'm scared it's going to get too expensive really fast. Is there any kind of discount program or coupons you offer? Only issue is the price, but other than that this is an awesome product for preemie parents.
Date published: 2017-04-26
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_347
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
disaster-close

If you or someone you know has been affected, find out how Similac® can help.

LEARN MORE