Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
Find out how Similac® can help >

Similac

Similac® NeoSure®

Promotes catch-up growth during your premature baby’s first 12 months

 

Your premature baby didn’t get her full 9 months in the womb, so her body is working hard to catch up.

Help support her development in the first full year by feeding her Similac NeoSure, a nutrient-enriched* formula for babies who were born prematurely.

 

Supports excellent growth during baby’s first year.1

  • Increased protein, energy, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula
  • Extra calories for growth
  • Calcium and phosphorus for baby’s growing bones

Supports better gains in weight, length, and head circumference for premature babies when compared to term infant formula.1 Has OptiGRO to support your baby's brain and eye development.

Learn more about the nutritional needs of your preemie.

Get tips for keeping your baby’s immune system strong.

Learn why catch-up growth is important.

* Increased protein, vitamins, and minerals compared to term infant formula.
Reference: 1. Carver JD, et al. Pediatrics. 2001;107:638-689.

Similac NeoSure 13.1 oz formula with Iron for preemies

Available In:

13.1-oz Powder

1-qt Ready to Feed

2-fl-oz Ready to Feed

For babies who were born prematurely

Nutrition Information

Powder / 13.1 oz

Serving size: 100 Cal (4.5 fl oz, prepared as directed)

Amount per serving

  • Calories:

    100

  • Volume, mL:

    134

  • Protein, g:

    2.8

  • Fat, g:

    5.5

  • Carbohydrate, g:

    10.1

  • Water, g:

    120

  • Linoleic Acid, mg:

    750

Vitamins & Minerals

Similac NeoSure
Similac logo

New Moms

Join Similac® StrongMoms® Rewards for up to $400* in customized benefits, free gifts, and exclusive savings.
Strongmom Decor Dsk
SIGN UP * Offers may vary.

Similac NeoSure Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for preemies Babygirl was born at 28 wks back in January, she's been taking breast milk fortified with formula since birth. Didn't have a problem the whole 9 wks in NICU. Now that baby is 3 months old, she's having a lot of gas and colic. Feel bad seeing my little one in so much pain but I have seen how much neosure has helped with her developement and I know the benefits out weigh the cons. I have seen my less than 3lb preemie grow into an 11lb 3 month old and I would recommend this formula to any NICU parent. It's not so bad now with baby taking fortified breast milk, but with my milk drying up and her only on formula I'm scared it's going to get too expensive really fast. Is there any kind of discount program or coupons you offer? Only issue is the price, but other than that this is an awesome product for preemie parents.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My son was born just shy of 33 weeks and the nicu supplemented breastfeeding with neosure. It has helped so much with his weight gain and getting him the extra nutrients he needs. However, he definitely does get gassy! At times, he seems a bit constipated but overall it has been great for my son and he has thrived.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Want to feed my preemie, but makes her so gassy The NICU fed the 2 oz ready made bottles to my daughter for two weeks while in their care and the pediatrician insisted we continue feeding it 2 times a day (every other feeding is pumped breast milk b/c preemie daughter never latched correctly) . I love the idea behind this product and my daughter seems to like it going down . It fills her up nicely. But a half hour to an hour later, my poor baby cries and shrieks in pain. Non stop gas, causing her to climb my chest and arch her back in agony .many times it comes out of her nose. It's horrible. I've tried adding gas drops, gripe water, colic drops, and it never fails. She struggles for about an hour to get the gas out. I informed my pediatrician of this, but she believes the benefits of neosure outweigh the negatives. So my advice is to proceed with caution; if your baby can handle it, great- but beware of its gas inducing prioperties.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neosure is such a wonderful product for our preemie except the cost for parents Our 26 weeker had mothers milk and then we got to switch to Neosure as the supplies went down. Our baby had to take neosure with oatmeal which really helped her to feed without any apnea or brady. But Neosure is too expensive for us.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great for packing on the weight! My son was born at 35 weeks, somewhat small for gestational age. He had a little hiccup that kept him in the nicu for 3 weeks and he was started on NeoSure. Has worked great for him gaining weight, and he tolerates the formula fairly well. However I agree with others that it makes him very gassy and a bit constipated as well. I give some breastmilk, which helps move things along...but he is still a gassy baby. Also, the powder formula, no matter how hard I try does nto dissolve very well. He much rather have the ready-to-feed, which unfortunately is quite costly. In general this formula is quite costly. I cannot imagine how much parents of multiples spend on formula!
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a good product Our little one was born 2/27/17 at 34wks. While in nicu she used this along with expressed breast milk. My milk never came in fully so after she came home I've only used the formula. she has gained weight with this formula and is on track to be at weight at her upcoming appointment. I like the formula because of that reason, however my little one has experienced a lot of gas and stomach discomfort. I've been told that the gas will pass in a couple weeks so we are trying to hold out to see if it does. I would recommend it with a caution about the gas.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for my preemie just super expensive My baby was born 3.30.17 at 35 weeks. This formula has helped her pack on the weight. She doesn't have any gas or spit up issues. Since she was in the nicu we have to make it 24 calories instead of 22. She tolerates it well. I would recommend this product to any preemie mom!!
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my triplets grow My triplets were born on 3.30.17 and one of my girls had to spend time in the NiCU since she was only 4 pounds 11 ounces at 32 weeks. Their pediatrician wants them to continue with neosure. Within in two weeks time, my triplets each gained a pound from this formula. However, the formula makes them extremely gassy causing intense discomfort. The formula makes it hard for them to have a bowel movement without crying as well. Since my babies need to grow, I have to stick with this formula. The formula is super expensive and since I have triplets, they go through one can a day. It would Be great if there were specials, coupons and/or discounts on the formula.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but wish it came in bigger sizes for Multiples! We have twin boys who have been on NEOsure since we came home. It helped our boys gain weight right off the bat and has worked great for enhancing my breastmilk and then transitioning to only formula. The only suggestion i have is maybe create a bigger size, now that the kids are older we have to buy up to 7-8 cans to last us through a week or two. I just with it had the bigger containers available like the other similac products! It's worked great for our family though!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product work great for our preemie and helping him gain weight. The downside to the product is th wish there were more buying options This product worked great for our preemie who is born at 32 weeks. The major downfall is the gas and constipation he has due to the formula. This formula is also hard to find and only comes in the smaller size for a big price.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gassy for my Son .. But I like the product My son was born at 30weeks and stayed in the nicu for 3 weeks, immediately similac neosure wad prescribed , while still in Nicu he started adding weight , part of the reason why we were discharged earlier. But I have observed that it makes him to pass gas alot , then most times twist his back and let out a tiny cry/sound. His bowel movement reduced as well. Apart from these issues , this product is fantastic for Preemies.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This formula worked great for my son!! .This formula worked great for my son!!
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My baby girl loved it My baby girl was born 6 weeks early and she loved this formula. Never had a issue with this formula and she was on the ready to feed. Also thank u for the coupons similac it helps me out so much and I Wouldn't pick another brand !
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great help in boosting weight for my Twins! My twins were 3.10lbs and 4.11lbs and lost 1/2 a lb in their first week. They were 5 weeks premature bc they were no longer sharing with eachother and stopped growing in the womb so they had to be delivered early to get them back on track. Their weight was hard to maintain while in the NICU for 2.5 weeks. The nurses/doctors eventually put them on NeoSure to help boost their weight and it worked! My pediatrician has recommended that I keep them on NeoSure until they hit 12 months. It would be really helpful if there were coupons for Twins as we go through at least 2 cans in about 4 days! It is really expensive to maintain along with diapers for 2! Also can you make a bigger canister like the rest of your formulas!?
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I DON'T KNOW WHERE WE WOULD BE WITHOUT NEOSURE My grandbaby was born at 26 weeks and 6 days weighing in at a whopping 1lb 7oz.. He has been on Neosure since he was old enough to start eating. He will be 1 year old on April 17th. He weighs 14.5lbs now. He is still having a hard time with solid food so he will not come off of the neosure yet. He still needs the extra help. Thanks so much!
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product wish it came in a bigger size This product is great my son was only a week early but we have had major issues with him gaining weight. At 4 months old he was only 10 pounds and way off the growth chart. His doctor recommended this formula because of the higher calories. He has had such great weight gain since being on this formula. The only downside is their is only one size of can I wish it would come in a bigger size because we go through it slot. And coupons would be awesome! But I absolutely love this formula for my son and I would definitely recommend it!!!!
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gassy and small quantities but worth it I have a preemie who was born at 26 weeks. We feed him breastmilk fortified with neosure in his bottles per the neonatologist at the NICU. He was first started on Neosure in the NICU when they were preparing for him to come home after a 3 month NICU stay. Unfortunately, because of the price and only available in the small can I can't afford to fortify every bottle of the day but the majority are. I notice that the fortified with neosure bottles produce a significant discomfort from gas afterwords. At one point we were exclusively breastfeeding but he fell off his curve so he is back to fortified so I know it makes a really big difference! Bigger containers and coupons would be great!
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but watch for gas My daughter was in the nicu for about 3 weeks. She was 7 weeks early. The hospital recommended I give her 2 Neosure bottles a day for several months. I have been noticing that the Neosure bottles makes her pretty gassy. She will cry, arch her back, pass gas, and spit up. She also isn't having regularl bowel movements m now which adds to the discomfort.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Success for our twins Our boy/girl twins were born at 32 weeks and stayed in NICU for three weeks one day. Baby Girl weighed 3lbs 10oz and Baby Boy weighed 3lbs 7oz. NICU supplemented our Twins with Neosure to help them get the extra calories and vitamins they needed to gain weight and develop. We have continued to use Neosure for the last 3 days out of the NICU and they are at 5lbs 3oz now and our pedi said they are doing amazing and to continue with the Similac products. Highly recommend but can be pricey.
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for preemies My son was born at 27 weeks. He was 2lbs 15". He was started on Neosure in the NICU and we continued it at home. He will only drink the pre-made formula, not the powder mix. He is now 5 months old and weighs 12.5 lbs and is 24" thanks to the vitamins and minerals from the Neosure. His drs are so pleased at his healthy gains in such a short time! The only downside is that he has had a difficult time moving his bowels and he gets very gassy some days. Overall, I would recommend this product to every preemie mom.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helping my baby grow My daughter was born at only 28 weeks. Once she was old enough to eat by mouth they changed her diet from fortified breastmilk to pure breastmilk and two feedings of neosure a day. It's helping her gain and keep weight while my breastmilk supply catches up to her needs. I've noticed that it's best to only give her neosure early in the Morning because it causes her to be so gassy and uncomfortable that she won't sleep without being pressed up against my chest. I've also notices it makes it harder for her to pass a bowel movement. I'm going to try splitting up when I give it her instead of it being consecutive feedings and see if that helps. Also the formula is super expensive. Of Your baby needs it due to being a preemie ask your doctor to submit a request to your health insurance. Some will cover the cost. WIC also covers the cost if it is prescribed and health insurance won't cover it.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but expensive I use this formula because my child was born prematurely and the doctors told us too. It's been rough because we don't qualify for state benefit programs like most people do so we pay out of pocket for this product. The can only comes in a 13.1oz jar and is about $18 a can. My child finishes a can in 3 days and my child is only 2 months old which means it'll only get worse before the year is up. Our pediatrician says we have to stay on this formula until my baby turns 1. Other than that this formula has been awesome for my baby!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my little one gain weight My little girl was born at 36 weeks weighing 4lbs 3oz and they gave it to her in the NICU and she has been on it since we left the hospital. She is also getting breast milk but she is really gassy and has a hard time pooping. She is now 7 weeks and almost doubled her weight. Would be nice if it came in a bigger container and maybe also pre-made.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my Twins Gain weight My twins girls was born at 32 weeks and stayed in NICU for about three weeks. Baby A weighed 3lbs 10oz and Baby B weighed 4lbs. NICU supplemented my Twins on Neosure to help my girls get the extra calories they needed to gain weight. The twins still spit up occasionally and is very gassy with Neosure. Hopefully the twins will grow out of it soon.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! My baby was born at 27 weeks and was put on this formula while in the NICU. He started gaining a considerable amount of weight once he was put on it, so much so, that he surpassed his goals and brought his entire percentile ratio up. I will keep him on this formula as long as possible to make sure he continues to grow with all of the added nutrients!! The only issue we've run into is that it causes his tummy to be extra gassy and hard to move his bowels.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it came in the bigger container My daughter was put on this due to her not gaining any weight. She is doing much better, the only thing is i wish it came in the bigger container as I go through 3 a week
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product for premature babies Very nice product for premature babies.my baby girl born at 25 week with 2 pound weight but after she took neosure she gained almost 8 pound in 3 month and she catch up her real age weight,,,,,
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for our premature twins Our twins were born premature at 35 weeks. We have supplemented with Neosure since day one, and currently are fed exclusively Neosure. They doubled their weights at the two month check up and have done very well. We do notice with our little boy he tends to be gassier and has a harder time with bowel movements. My only suggestion would be to sell in the bigger tins bc we go through 1 time every day and a half, so the larger size would be nice.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Currently in the NICU My son was started on Neosure about 4 days after being born premature at 35 weeks. We tried exclusively breastfeeding and that didn't work. We tried Similac for Newborns and he was still losing weight. He was born 5 lbs 5 ounces and dropped to 4 lbs 7 ounces in those 4 days. However, with Neosure and my couple of bottle of breastmilk per day he is growing wonderfuly! Thanks Similac! Y'all are truly a lifesaver!
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely fantastic My twin boys were born at 36w. Which is great! But they did spend almost two weeks in the Nicu. One had some breathing issues and the other couldn't quite keep his temperature up. Then they both needed to get the hanhang of eating. So they got the neosure or breast milk fortified with the neosure. And wow. Did my boys grow! At birth they were 5lbs 10oz and 6lbs 1oz. Twin A, the 5lb-er, was the one with temperature issues and he lost alot of weight, he got down to 5lb 2oz. By the time he came home he was back up to birth! A month later and both my boys have gained almost two pounds! And they love the neosure. No problems at all. Maybe a little gassy from the air bubbles from mixing, but nothing too crazy.
Date published: 2017-02-23
  • y_2018, m_10, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_348
  • loc_en_US, sid_sim-prod-510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_similac
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Has your family been affected by Hurricane Michael?
disaster-close

If you or someone you know has been affected, find out how Similac® can help.

LEARN MORE